Review – My Soul to Take

My Soul to Take (Soul Screamers #1)

by Rachel Vincent

Purchased

I wasn’t sure about this one.  I know everyone is all over it, it is a really popular series…but you really just never know.  However, it was fun and I really liked it.  I was worried mostly about the screaming thing because I thought it would be way over the top…but it worked.  She didn’t make it too loony, and no matter how alone Kaylee feels, there are others that understand.

So when someone is about to die, Kaylee sees a black shadow surround them, she knows they are going to die and a scream of epic proportions wants to freaking wail out of her.  In the prequel she ended up in a mental hospital until she learned to not talk about it and call them panic attacks.  So when she almost freaks out while in a club after seeing a girl with black all around her she heads home.  But on the news she finds out the girl died not much time later.  She now knows her feelings are correct and she isn’t crazy.

There is a mystery, new love, lots of teen jealousy and kissing and a whole bunch of worldbuilding.  Kaylee is a bean sidhe/banshee and didn’t know it.  What she is able to do is sing for the newly released souls.  But the problem is, the girls who are dropping dead aren’t supposed to be dying.  What is happening to their souls and why?  Why didn’t Kaylee grow up knowing her heritage?

The story is fully completed and could be a stand alone.  I like it, though it is a little young.  The main characters are 16 and have urges and just do a lot of kissing.  Also, Sam is quite responsible…almost a little codependent, is that the right word?  When someone else needs something, she feels like she has to do everything in her power for them.  There are other bean sidhes around, but she just found out she can do certain things, so it is up to her to fix everything.  I just started reading the next book and it is the same thing.  Which means she is strong and even though she is scared she will try, but she also runs in without learning about things putting her life at risk willy nilly.  So, we will see if the series continues using that devide to further the plot or not.  Otherwise, this was an enjoyable book with cute characters, a gorgeous love interest and a main character coming into her own power.  3.5 stars.

Favorite quote just because: “None of this is your fault…” She stared down into her coffee, as if she had more to say, but the words had fallen into the mug and were now too soggy to use.” p249

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – My Soul to Take

  1. I have always wanted to read this series. It sounds so cool. It seems very YA but I can handle that. Great review. I am totally getting this.

  2. beckyday6 says:

    Whoa, intense cover!

    I love the quote though, it’s unusual. Although I don’t think I will be picking up the book.

Don't be shy!

