Quickie Review – Garden Spells

gardenspellsGarden Spells
by Sarah Addison Allen

I think I have told you I love Allen’s books.  This was the first one of hers I have read and these are a few quickie comments I had about it.

What a magical little book! It follows one family whose magic garden has fascinated and frightened the rest of the town. Only estranged sisters and a cousin are left of the family, with one of the sisters returning home in need of a safe haven along with her daughter.  The book is reminiscent of Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman and is just as lovely, though shorter with less description.

I ate this book up. It is full of magics, both small and large, interesting characters (I love the apple tree who is the temptress of its own forbidden fruit), love and understanding. It doesn’t have a lot of large strokes action, you instead ramble around town and learn what makes folks tick which leads to their machinations and consequences. But it is comfort food for the soul and it makes you feel good.  If you want to escape for a little while to read something fairly fluid and easy, and then feel pretty happy about everything and life in the end, check it out!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Quickie Review – Garden Spells

  1. pooks says:

    I’m so glad to see this review. I’ve had my eye on this book for a long time but haven’t ever read it. Thanks for reviewing it!

  2. diannegray says:

    I love “comfort food for the soul” – it sounds like mental chocolate 😀

    Another great review (even if it was a “quickie”)

Don't be shy!

