A Christmas Carol Read-a-long

christmas carolA Christmas Carol – by Charles Dickens

Read-a-long with Delia from Postcards from Asia

Lovely Delia sent me an email with questions to answer instead of a book review.  Since I think everyone knows the story, I think this will be more fun.

Is this the first time you are reading the story? – No, I think it was the second or third time.  Sadly it is the ONLY Dickens I have read.  *hides head in shame until I realize it is a perfect resolution – read one more Dickens in 2013!*

Did you like it?  Yes!

Which is your favorite scene? When Scrooge meets Marley and thinks he could be explained away as something he ate.

Least favorite scene? When Scrooge is in denial that it could be his own grave.  The hard hitting stuff was when he finds out the body was alone so those opportunists could steal from his corpse.  Just knowing he died doesn’t add too much, we all die.

Which spirit and his stories did you find the most interesting? I like the ghost of Christmas present.  He is sort of like Bacchas, all jolly and with a big feast around him and bestowing happiness to the needy.  Also, listening to Cratchett’s family as well as Scrooge’s nephew is enjoyable.

Was there a character you wish you knew more about? Scrooge’s girlfriend.

How did you like the end?  It is classic, enjoyed it, was happy.

Do you think it was believable? Not really, at least not that quickly without any backsliding.  It is more a parable type story, but it is nice.

Do you know anyone like Scrooge?  No

Did he deserve to be saved?  He was redeemable, so yes.

So, have you read the story before?  Did you enjoy it?  I like it because it is so short that even though the language is tougher and slower going, it is still a quick read.  It is also nice to remind yourself to lighten up and remember to love your fellow man during the holidays!  Best!!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Christmas Carol Read-a-long

  1. Thanks for participating, I enjoyed reading all your answers and I had to smile when I read about your favorite scene. I remember that scene well, it was really funny!

  2. I love that you (kinda sorta) reviewed a classic. And Dickens, no less! You’re my hero.

    Jonathan
    http://www.ireadabookonce.com

  3. This is a cool little post. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Dickens in December – A Christmas Carol – Readalong « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

  5. Rachel says:

    To me, the hard-hitting part about Scrooge’s death is that he needn’t have died when he did. He died because when he became sick no one was there to care for him. It’s possible he would have lived if he’d had someone there. Of course, it was also rather depressing that his corpse was robbed – though I think dying a cold and lonely death when you COULD have had friends is much more depressing. I wouldn’t really care what happens to my body or belongings (if I have no one to give them to) – but that’s just me.

    my review of A Christmas Carol

  6. beckyday6 says:

    I so wanted to read this for Christmas to get me in the mood, I’ve never read it before! Unfortunately it just didn’t happen this year, too many reading challenges and other crazy stuff going on. Next year maybe! 🙂

    Cool answers. 🙂 I’ve only ever read about half of Oliver Twist and I really didn’t enjoy it, but I’ve come a long way since then so I think I would probably enjoy it more now.

  7. Pingback: Dickens in December – Wrap up « Beauty is a Sleeping Cat

Don't be shy!

