Wrapped Up in a Bow – 2012 Blah blah blah…

images red white bow

bowHappy New Year everyone! 

I was sitting on the couch, drinking coffee and reading my  book and started thinking about the reading year of 2012.  So I put down the book and decided to come and yap to all my friends in cyber-space.  Warning, I am a little verbose here.  Sorry about that.

The 2012 Overview – I started this blog and read like a freaking maniac!  I read 161 stories, though some were quite short, and I am quite proud of myself as that is quite a lot for me (I think, never counted before).  I am zooming through so many because I have been reading a lot of the paranormal genre and young adult instead of classics or even historical fiction.  I can’t help it, I am still addicted, so I imagine 2013 will be a bit similar.

The Blog – I started this thing to do some reviews so I remember what I read, and to jump-start my writing.  I always wanted to write because I have so many ideas flitting around in my head but I have a discipline problem.  So, not a writer.  But, this seemed like a middle road getting “pen to paper” so to speak.  That was in the beginning of February.  Dang, it will be 1-year-old soon.  *sniff* they grow up so quickly, don’t they?

Some of my personal highlights are: I survived the A-Z Challenge in April – what the heck was I doing signing up for a 30 days of daily posting barely two months after starting this thing?  Besides self-flagellation tendencies which I can’t even begin to explore, I learned that I like to jump in with both feet and figure out how to swim in the deep end.  What doesn’t kill you, right?  Well, I limped along after that, it didn’t help that work was insanely busy and stressful that month as well.

After licking my wounds for a while I finally figured out that I needed a schedule to help keep myself sane.  It helped, imagine that?  At least I think so, not sure how the rest of the people in my life think about my sanity…but I am the one writing this, so what I think stands.  So I now do 3 book reviews, one fun day for myself called Frivolous Fridays and I like to participate in MizB’s WWW meme.  Even though I use goodreads.com, the Wednesday thing is like a reading wrap-up on a weekly basis and it cracks me up to see which books I think I will read next.  It rarely works out.

I have been wanting to, but have stayed away from “In My Mailbox” memes because I would have to face how many books I bring into my house on a weekly basis (and expose myself to the rest of the book bloggers, kind friends and family who stop by).  I have been insane with the library and used bookstores this year (and kindle freebies), I get some great deals, but holy guacamole, it is out of control.  Maybe I should participate, it could be like an intervention or therapy for me.  Any thoughts?

TBR-EOR vignette-cropped-190x300New Year’s Resolution anyone?  I have decided that I am going to work on my massive TBR book pile  and participate in Planet Pooks Embarrassment of Riches reading challenge.  Come join.  I am going for Platinum which means I am going to tackle 50 books from my TBR.  Honestly, since I hope to read 3 times that this year, I think I should try for more.  We will see if I sign up for other challenges.

Spread the Word – I did sign up as a book tour host towards the end of the year, which created some reading deadlines and such which sometimes crashed into other things.  Ok, occasionally it was like living in a pinball machine.  There were a few times I was reading late into the night because I had to meet a date.  I actually almost signed up for another tour company recently, I had the form filled out and everything and stopped myself.  That is the second time I have done that this year.  I also would love another puppy, but not gonna happen.  I have a tendency to over-commit and then stress out to make all the deadlines – then all this stuff just isn’t as fun and WTH?! isn’t this all mainly for fun?!  However, I would like to figure out a way to make new friends, find other blogs to visit and continue to make my way in the larger blogger community.  If you have any ideas…let me know!

That is it for now. Not sure if I accomplished a 2012 wrap up since a lot more than that happened, but I think that is all I can focus on for now.  I have made a lot of wonderful friends through this blog who have made all this work worth it and I am really looking forward to the good people I will meet next year, wait, THIS year.  Thanks for dropping by!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Ramblings of a Lunatic Mind. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wrapped Up in a Bow – 2012 Blah blah blah…

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Ha ha, this post made me chuckle. 🙂

    I can so relate! I always try put deadlines into my blog whether it’s author interviews or blog challenges, and often it just ends up making it less fun. I mean, it would be fun but I always overload myself too much, which is not a good thing to do! Yet I still go and do it again. 😛

    Good for you signing up for the TBR pile challenge, I was thinking about joining one, but in the end I decided against it, just because with everything uni I thought it best not to commit to too many things. BUT I will be trying to lower my TBR pile right along with ya sister! If I need moral support, I know where to go! And vise versa. 😀

    I wish you another year of great blog posts, and I’m so glad I’ve had the chance to chat to you over the blogosphere in 2012!

    • ocdreader says:

      Awesome! I think I will need all the support I can get with this TBR thing, almost every time I read my bookish friends blogs it is about a new book that I desperately want to read as well! Oh well. AND, my favorite authors keep writing! haha, tough problems to have, right?

  2. diannegray says:

    I think an intervention is in order if you continue to read as much as you do – you are a reading machine! 😀 I envy you because I would love to have read all the books you have read.

    I have a thought on getting into the bigger blogger community – I’m not technical in the least, but when you comment on my posts, there is no ‘link’ to your site from your name. When you first started commenting I had to actually go and do a search for you. I’m not sure why this is happening and if it’s just happening to me or to others. If you go to my comments section, have a look at the names of the bloggers who have commented and if you click on them it will take you to their site – then have a look to see your comment. Let me know how you go 😉

  3. I totally hear you on over commiting it’s my biggest problem

  4. jenniferbielman says:

    You have done really great this year. I hope you have a great 2013 year of blogging and writing.

  5. Erin C. says:

    would you get anything done if you didn’t overcommit? would it be any fun not running around lke a chicken? ha ha. too funny sister. i love your blog, get entirely overwhelmed by how much you read, and think you are doing a fantastic job, and i think you should write your own short story. ha ha. keep it up! happy new year!

  6. Jonathan says:

    Sounds like a bang-up year! Your blog has been coming along very nicely, and I’m impressed each time I read a review.

    Jonathan Wilhoit
    http://www.ireadabookonce.com

Don't be shy!

