Frivolous Friday – January 4th

Have you ever been up to Mono Lake (north of Mammoth Mountain in Northern California) and seen the tufas?  Tufas are calcium carbonate, or limestone and they took decades to centuries to grow under water.  It is a weird lake because it is too salty and devoid of oxygen to support fish.  There is nothing living in the lake but an alkaline fly and some brine shrimp, but those two things manage to feeds millions of nesting birds a year.  So, tufas are only created in the water, but since LA sucked all the water from Northern CA for a while unchecked, Mono Lake lost water levels and the tufas were uncovered.  They are like fairy or mermaid castles and you can walk around them and snap photos.  (one looks like a camel to me) Check them out.

Here is a link in case you want to read more about Mono Lake and its surreal tufas.

IMG_2832IMG_2831IMG_2834IMG_2830

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Frivolous Friday – January 4th

  1. They look amazing. In fact the scenery all around is beautiful. And yes, I see your camel.

  2. Nutschell says:

    amazing! i’d never heard of tufas but they do look like a mermaid’s castle 🙂
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  3. diannegray says:

    They look amazing! I love natural sculptures like this (and yes – I can see the camel!) 😀

  4. beckyday6 says:

    Wow these are so cool! I’ve never heard of this before, and the sky is so clear as well. 🙂

Don't be shy!

