Review – The Eleventh Question

eleventh questionThe Eleventh Question

by Dianne F. Gray

Downloaded free from amazon, thanks Dianne!

I have now read two of Gray’s novels and I love her style.  She writes stories that are impossible to put down, but also make you think about the world we live in and the possibilities that abound.  Lovely.  The Eleventh Question is about a girl, Arista, who is being bullied in school and, in a way, at home as well.  Her mother drinks to excess and likes to gamble, but is also grasping at things to believe in, things to make herself feel complete and a part of something.  Either through religion or the men she dates.  Sort of like many people you meet.  Her daughter is trying to understand herself and the world around her and she has begun asking questions.  To date, there have been 10 important questions asked by mankind, and she is poised to be the one to ask the 11th, which will bring about a paradigm shift or sea change in the world.  There is a Seer and her Ayudante (assistant), Cayo who are watching and helping the people who could possibly ask the 11th.  The chapters alternate between Cayo and Arista.

It really makes you think, Gray sneaks philosophy into a compulsively readable story – Who am I?  What am I?  Why am I so concerned about what others think – what do I think and care most about!?

The characters struggled, I struggled with them.  I really felt an affinity for the narrators Arista and I loved reading about Cayo.  His struggle was so interesting…pride gets in the way, but he makes good.  He follows through when he makes declarations, even if he really didn’t want to in the first place.  His story reminded me slightly of The Alchemist which I haven’t read in forever, so it could just be the feel or what I have turned the story to in my head.  But it was lyrical and metaphorical and made me think of it.

Arista is a really good kid, even though her home life is so messed up.  Which I find amazing, but she is likeable, and going through struggles many of us have faced.  She just ends up digging a bit deeper than many of us get.  She has to face her fears in order to grow, and she has strength, wonderful people helping and the drive to do what needs to be done.

I loved Cayo and his journey.  It was awesome.  I really recommend this read.  It was lovely, makes you question your world, has tons of sucky reality and has enough whimsy and magic to make it that much more fascinating.  5 stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Review – The Eleventh Question

  1. diannegray says:

    Thank you, Elisa – I’m so glad you liked it!

    You’re wonderful 😀

  2. Five stars, I’m impressed. This looks like an interesting read and it did make me curious about that 11th question. I’m guessing that’s rather metaphorical, though.

    • ocdreader says:

      lol – a bit. there is a stretching of the imagination that must happen… But it is funny, with this and her other novel, The Everything Theory you wonder the whole time, how the heck is this going to end? is she painting herself into a corner with this idea? and then it is done and you realize how cleverly she works you and how satisfied you feel at the end! At least I was! 🙂

  3. cocoaupnorth says:

    Thank you for the review. I have to get my hands on this book, sounds interesting especially the…”Who am I? What am I? Why am I so concerned about what others think – what do I think and care most about!?”

  4. robin claire says:

    Hi,
    I can’t figure out how to download this book. I would like to ask my library if they could get a hard copy too. Is there a hard copy available?
    robin
    Could you please contact me through my contact page at this site?: http://robinclaire.wordpress.com/contact-me/

  5. beckyday6 says:

    This sounds pretty cool! It’s a shame it doesn’t have more of an eye-cating cover, if I saw it on a shelf I would probably pass it by without a second look! Sad vain times. :S

    • diannegray says:

      Hey Becky – I had a bit of a disaster with the cover (the one I wanted to use, I found was being used by someone else, long story). If you have any ideas (or are a graphic designer) let me know because I’m still on the lookout for a ‘permanent’ cover 😀

      • beckyday6 says:

        Ohhh no! that must have been so disappointing. :/
        Sorry I’m not a graphic designer, but I did take art GCSE and ALevel art graphics. 😛 I actually wanted to be a graphic designer for a really long time, but changed my mind. It is quite difficult to suggest idea’s when I don’t know much about the book, but I guess you could do something with question marks? As that seems to be a key theme in the book. Maybe you could…. oooooh IDEA! *light bulb goes ding* you could have sort of a stylized pic of the girl in the corner with all these question marks sort of dispersing from her head. But the girl could be made out of question marks, or words. And the question marks could be made up of the questions. Does that make any sense? Kinda like some of these: http://uk.images.search.yahoo.com/search/images?_adv_prop=image&fr=mcafee&va=typography Just an random idea anyways, don’t know if it would fit with the vision for your book or not. 😛

        Good luck! 🙂

      • diannegray says:

        Oh my! These pics are fantastic! I love the face, the heart, the umbrella, the hand – you’re a genius! Thank you SO much – I love inspiration! 😀 I’ll let you know how I go 😉

  6. jenniferbielman says:

    Um, wow. this sounds sooooo interesting. I never hear of it until now. Greay review.

  7. Pingback: Book Review: The Eleventh Question by Dianne Gray | Marsha Lee

Don't be shy!

