Review – The Kitchen Witch

kitchen witchThe Kitchen Witch (Accidental Witch #1)

by Annette Blair

from the TBR tower

I am on some cutsie/cozie book kick.  I don’t know why except they are fast stories with issues that magically work themselves out.  I think because I have a head cold and can’t handle much thinking right now, I need the “easy peasy”!

Overall this book was very adorable, though if I wanted to be annoyed with character decisions I could find plenty to tick me off in here.  I wasn’t in the mood to think too much, I read a lot of this while soaking in the bath, and that was perfect.  I thought about being irked, but didn’t have it in me.  Ha!

The relationship – there is some fun back and forth and denial of attraction leading to some seriously lusty scenes.  These two have an idea of who they are and the type of person they want to be with, and the other doesn’t satisfy the criteria.  They just can’t help it that the lust and attraction is through the roof.  It makes it silly and a little goofy at times, but quite sweet too.

The characters were freaking adorable.  Logan’s son Shane is 4 and his mom abandoned him off with Logan not too long before this story happens.  So Shane has some issues but is hilarious and loving and sweet.  Melody is chaos walking, sex on a stick, and might be a real witch but NICE.  Logan is a reformed bad boy, now a briefcase carrying, suit wearing responsible adult with Shane as his first priority.  He also looks good in a kilt.   Mix them together and see what happens.

The irritating stuff was easily glossed over if you don’t let it bother you.  Mainly because Melody acts dingy but is actually really smart.  Both characters make some dopey decisions thinking they are doing the “right” things.

The setting, Melody becomes a cooking show host for the local TV station Logan works for.  She can’t cook very well, but she is personable and figures some things out.  They live in Salem, MA, so her being The Kitchen Witch has kitsh and fits with her background.

All in all I couldn’t put the darn thing down, which was irritating because I knew I was overdosing on candy, but had a great time doing it.  3 golden stars painted on a purple door.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Chick Lit, Fiction, Review, Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review – The Kitchen Witch

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Lol, the name of this book just really makes me want to read it! Lol. 🙂

    I hope you feel better soon! I have to say, I am very impressed you still manage to read and blog when you have a cold, I always find it impossible, it makes my head hurt. 😛

  2. diannegray says:

    Easy peasy is the best kind of read when you have a head cold. Hope you’re feeling better soon 😉

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    Awww, it does sound cute. I like the lighter reads right now too. Sorry to hear about the head cold. I am just getting over one myself.

Don't be shy!

