Review – Born At Midnight

born at midnightBorn At Midnight (Shadow Falls #1)

by c.c. hunter

Overview – YA paranormal book crack!  I repeat Book.Crack.  A little predictable with all the YA tropes, but so readable and so much fun!  I ate it up.

I didn’t know what to read this weekend, even though I was reading two other books I need to finish, but one was slow and the other a little preachy.  So, I was just staring at all my books on the shelves and feeling guilty, like I was looking at a super long to-do list that I couldn’t  start because there was too darn much on it.  So I picked this little goody up and couldn’t put it back down.   I blame the cold too.

The story – Kylie goes to a party, gets in trouble and gets shipped off to camp for the summer.  Her home life is weird at the moment but when she gets on the bus for camp, she realizes the other campers are weirder.  They are paranormal freaks who say she belongs there with them.  What?!  What is a teenager to do?

This is a coming of age storyline, an “I don’t want to be paranormal, my parents are human and all you all are wrong so send me home” type of book.  But she also has some real life teen issues that she still has to deal with, even though she is surrounded by vampires and werewolves and fae, oh my.  Her parents are divorcing and her best friend is “experimenting”.

Her friends are all different types of paranormals learning to get along, and learning how to deal with who and what they are or now are.  I wish I had a camp like this when I was coming of age!  I really liked her camp roommates.  While we don’t necessarily follow their stories that closely, they are complicated and fairly well-rounded.  Also, while they have special abilities, they are still teenagers with issues we can relate with.

The love interest – Kylie has a few.  She has an ex-boyfriend, also an insta-love interest from camp who is sweet AND a werewolf bad-boy she knows from years before…  So we have the dreaded love triangle+.  The ex is her normal life intruding on the paranormal camp, he makes things complicated.   But men usually do that.

There are some storylines that I hope they explore in the next book and some I really wish they got to in this one!  Some were just hints to come….Crack!

There is a little mystery happening at camp as well.  Though it doesn’t play a huge part until the end, adding a little action to the teen drama.  I don’t know what else to say except I couldn’t put it down.  Not as though anything was new, or different, but it is simply compelling.  I really want to get the others from the series so I can feed this little mini addiction.  Book.Crack Rocks!  How do you rate this type of thing?  It isn’t 5 stars literary wise, but it was 5 stars of paranormal book candy!

I want to reread it in the future, but slowly to see what Hunter did that had me so in thrall.  I wonder if it would do it a second time…not many can.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review – Born At Midnight

  1. diannegray says:

    I love 5 stars of paranormal book candy! LOL 🙂 Excellent review.

  2. Katie Turner says:

    Great review. I have had this on my wishlist forever and grabbed it the other day for my Kindle. I cant wait to start it and will bring it up my TBR I think. Thanks for sharing.

    Katie ~ Turner’s Antics

  3. beckyday6 says:

    ‘So, I was just staring at all my books on the shelves and feeling guilty, like I was looking at a super long to-do list that I couldn’t start because there was too darn much on it.’ – Ugh, I so know what you mean! It really does feel like a lot of the time lately! While I’m reading the current book sometimes all I’m thinking of is what book I should be reading next. I hate that and sometimes it’s difficult to separate myself from it – hence why I want to lower my tbr pile! :/

    I’m glad you enjoyed this book so much. Sometimes it’s good to just go with your heart with a book, it doesn’t always have to have literary merit (I just read a book I had a similar experience with myself!) 🙂

    How is the cold now? Has it gone yet? 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      lol – I think I caught a second one or I have some insane allergies! What the heck?! But basically it means I am still reading feel good brain candy. Can’t help myself 🙂

      • beckyday6 says:

        Ohhh no that’s no fair! Maybe it’s your body trying to tell you that you need a good rest and relax. 🙂

        Haha, I’m on an easy reading kick right now too, don’t really feel like reading anything hardcore. 😛

Don't be shy!

