WWW Wednesdays January 16th

Weekly Reading Wrap-up to answer the three What questions with MizB of ShouldBeReading –  What have you finished, What are you reading and What is next?

placenta of loveeleganceI finished a couple of silly things, The Mane Event and The Mane Attraction by Shelly Laurenston both paranormal romances with tons of crass humor with lots of messing around.  My husband can’t stand any more muscley males on my bookcovers, so I picked up the kindle and finished Placenta of Love by Spike Marlowe, my first bizarro novella.  Wacky, kinda dirty and tons of twisted fun.  I also finished Beautiful Disaster, was that only a week ago now?  Jeez, it felt a lot longer!  And I finished The Elegance of the Hedgehog – oh man, that was soooooo good!  It took me a while to get into it, I was whining about it a little (because it is high language and a lot of philosophy and some of the essays were just beyond me and the characters were just too damn smart, I mean come on!) and chuckling over a lot, but once I got into the story part as well as the little essays, I couldn’t put it down.  So. Good.  I cried.  I think it’s a keeper actually.

sinngers ginlastkissI am currently reading Sinner’s Gin by Rhys Ford which is a mystery and m/m romance and I am loving the characters so far.  I am also reading Last Kiss Goodnight, my first Gena Showalter book.  It is really good so far and I want to know where the heck she is taking this story!  I am also part way into Feed by Mira Grant as it was calling to me from my bookshelf, so I am around 100 pages into that one.  It starts out with lots of zombie action, but the story follows a couple of bloggers who are reporting the news for the new presidential campaign, 20 years post zombie apocolypse.  Totally interesting setting, it got slow and I picked up other things.

supernaturalfreaksilver threadNext up I am going to read Supernatural Freak by Louisa Klein.  I read the first chapter and it was action-packed, I am looking forward to jumping back into it.  I am also going to get into The Silver Thread by Emigh Cannaday.  I really enjoyed the first one, Balkan Magic and look forward to what those characters are up to.  And because Miss Cannaday is super cool, she gave me GIVEAWAY copies of both Balkan Magic and The Silver Thread – woot!  So keep your eyes peeled for that post.

What are you guys reading this week?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Meme, WWW Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to WWW Wednesdays January 16th

  1. pooks says:

    You are always reading interesting things. I’m with your husband. It’s a rare muscley male cover that works for me, and I’m very very very glad that I’m no longer carrying real books around advertising my reading tastes because I often hate the covers. I’ve been meaning to get around to the bizarro books. Good? Oooooh, maybe I should move that up to the top of to-reads even though they aren’t already TBRs for the challenge!

    And I’m really happy you like Elegance/Hedgehog. I do want to read that. Is it a Kindle or a print? When you decide an ebook is a keeper, do you buy it in print, if it’s available? I do–in hardcover, if possible.

    • ocdreader says:

      I think I am going to like bizarro because anything can happen, well anything within the reality they have created. It is kind of fun actually to be a little shocked at the wacky setting the author comes up with 🙂 I got Hedgehog in paperback, which worked well because the POV switches randomly and I heard the font doesn’t change on the ebook. I could also look ahead at chapter page count and say “Just one more”. They were all pretty short which was tempting me to keep reading

  2. Katie Turner says:

    Interesting books this week. I haven’t heard of many of these, but will be checking some out. I just reviewed Supernatural Freak, it was pretty good and a fun read, glad it will be a series, Rob is a great strong character. Happy reading.

    Katie ~ TurnersAnticsWWW

  3. Those all look like great picks. Supernatural Freak looks really interesting! Here is my WWW: http://meganm922.blogspot.com/2013/01/www-wednesdays_16.html

  4. What a stack of books! All interesting. Ha – my boyfriend would take the same opinion about any PNRs. We went to the bookstore and thanked me for not reading “much” of that genre. But I might have to incorporate a bit more. Supernatural Freak looks interesting – might have to check that out myself!

    Thanks for visiting my WWW
    Jessie Marie from The Daily Bookmark

    • ocdreader says:

      He said he got used to the tatted up girls with a sword but can’t deal with the weird looking muscle guys – it was funny. 🙂 Honestly I am not a fun of those kinds of covers either, embarrassing!

  5. Valentina says:

    Very cool books! I havenn’t heard of any of these, but I’ll have to look them up!

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2013/01/www-wednesdays_16.html

  6. diannegray says:

    Supernatural Freak looks interesting and I love the cover (have you guessed I’m obsessed with covers?) 😉

  7. Kwizgiver says:

    I’ve got a copy of Hedgehog somewhere around here, I’ll have to find it and read it. Glad you liked it.

  8. Irish says:

    I have had Feed on my shelf for a long time now I think I might have to dust it off soon. All your other books look really good as well and I’ve added them all to my list. Really looking forward to seeing your final thoughts on Sinner’s Gin and Supernatural Freak.

    My WWW Wednesday is here.

  9. Placenta of Love? What a strange title!

    Looks like you had a good week, reading-wise!

Don't be shy!

