Review – Stitch

stitchStitch (Stitch Trilogy #1)

by Samantha Durante

This is the year of the dystopia!

Overall – crazy future alert but with a slow start.  Stick with it, you won’t be disappointed.

Characters are interesting – Alessa is in college and doesn’t really want to be there.  Her parents recently died and she gave up on her grades after that, along with her special college dreams.  She has one best friend and she keeps seeing a ghost in the sorority house she lives in.  She dreams about him as well.  Things are confusing.

But once you are about half way through, more starts happening.  The POV starts to switch for one thing, which is great because you learn a bit more information.  Then you really get slammed.

The characters are good.  I wasn’t that drawn to them right away though.  Alessa is drifting about, barely engaging…so it is hard to really engage with her when she isn’t fully there…ya know?  Anyway, she starts really going after figuring out who this ghost is because she is having some feelings for him.  Kind of unexplained because they only catch glimpses.  It all makes sense eventually, but her depth of feeling doesn’t jive for a while, so the reader plays a little catch up.

So what does this book say about mankind?  Because honestly I think it has a lot to say.  We start out with the best of intentions but somehow power corrupts, absolutely.  It is funny, I am reading another book which focuses around faeries.  They talk about earth disparagingly, humans are power hungry because basically only the strong survive and that is how we understand the world.  That is how it works here.  Everything is done to create a winner and a loser, especially survival.  This book reiterates that.  Even when we go for benevolence and equality, it doesn’t work.

This is the beginning of a trilogy, the book is a little slow to get off the ground but it does.  I am really looking forward to the next book because we are hopefully going to find out more on the other side to see what is happening.  There should also be more heart stopping action as the jig is up and we know what is occuring.  We can find out more about these characters, see them feel and interact and work for what they believe in.  It is exciting!  3.5 – 4 stars that think they are planets.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Dystopia, Fiction, New Adult. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Stitch

  1. jenniferbielman says:

    I have this book but haven’t got to it yet. I don’t like that it’s a slow start but if you say it gets better, I will stick with it. Great review.

  2. robin claire says:

    Hi buddy,
    I nominated you for a star for Blog of the Year!!
    check here on my post to get your award…
    http://robinclaire.wordpress.com/2013/01/17/my-first-star-for-blog-of-the-year-award/
    love you,
    robin claire

  3. Sounds great and I do enjoy dystopian. Great genre.

Don't be shy!

