Tell Me About Yourself Award

Layla of Be Not Afeard has nominated me for the tell me about yourself award.  Since I don’t think there are too many rules to this, just to provide a smattering of little known facts about me…I am actually responding!  What?!  I know.  I am usually too busy/lazy/unorganized to respond to these things…

Image

1. I love to going to Knott’s Scary Farm during Halloween.  I make myself a bundle of nerves and suddenly things that jump out at me scare screams out of me.  Hey, its fun!

2. I lived in NYC during a garbage strike, 9/11, an MTA strike and the tri-state blackout.  It toughened me up.

3. I go hiking every weekend with my dog Luke – who is named after Cool Hand, not Skywalker.

4. I procrastinate a lot.  My house is usually only really clean when I have something even worse I need to accomplish.

5. I want to write a short story this year.  I am going to force myself NOT to wait until December 15th to start it.  (#4 ya know).  No, I haven’t started writing yet, though my sister and I are working on an idea.

6. My first reaction to almost anything is to laugh.  It is highly inappropriate at times but I can’t help myself.

7.  I can and do quote Young Frankenstein and The Simpsons fairly often and lately those Christopher Guest movies; Best in Show and Waiting for Guffman.

8. When I heard the title 16 Candles I thought it was a horror film.  I was picturing creepy candelabras, not a birthday cake.  That is where my brain takes things.  One other instance of odd brain behavior, when I was little and the nuns told me that God didn’t want me to keep anything “in” I thought God was really concerned about my bathroom habits. (?!?)

9.  I memorized the first few lines of Canterbury Tales by Chaucer in ye olde english for my junior year english class.  I can still mostly recite it.  Wan that abril with his shores sote the drought of marche hath perced to the roote…  I can also recite The Jabberwock. (look at me go!)

10. My sister and I are going to run this year’s Bay to Breakers in San Francisco and just decided we are going to dress up too.  I need to get into shape!

11. I am really bad about responding to blog awards and chain letters.

So, now that you know a little more about me, please tell me a random fact about you!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tell Me About Yourself Award

  1. LOL, funny. I am also #6-we are twisted in a way huh? I wanted to run too but my boyfriend said “you wont last 3 days, 3 hours maybe and you’d call me to pick you up on a street corner somewhere “. ha ha. Voracious reader, funny girl, I don’t like chain letters but i participate in things like this 🙂
    … and if we are close by, I can help you with number 4. 😀

  2. Cathy i says:

    Hey!,,,why is it that mom is the last to know???
    Thank goodness you are dressing “up” and not “down” for Bay to Breakers.
    We’ve seen some pretty scary sights there…
    May I come?

  3. diannegray says:

    I’m with you on #6 as well. I think it’s a defense mechanism thing! My sister also laughs initially at odd (or even sad) things. It can get me into a lot of trouble! 😯

  4. cleemckenzie says:

    Laughter is a defense and shy people often use it to cover up just how much they’d rather not be doing whatever is provoking that laughter. My sis and I do it a lot!

  5. I love Knotts during halloween. And I also laugh at innappropraite times. I can’t help it. So embrassing though. And yaaaay, quoting from the Simpsons is awesome. “Oh Margy, you came and you brought me a turkey, from my vacation away from worky.” hahaha.

    Love your list. Thanks for sharing.

  6. beckyday6 says:

    You lived in NYC!? That is so cool. 😀 I nod my head enthusiastically to 4 and 6 lol!

    I’m trying desperately to think of a random fact about myself but I don’t seem to be doing very well…..urmm *five minutes later* quite often whenever I go up to my room I end up staring at my bookshelf, and I can be there agessss….like half an hour. 😛

Don't be shy!

