Review – Enclave (Razorland Bk 1)

enclaveEnclave (Razorland Bk 1)

by Ann Aguirre

Embarrassment of Riches Challenge 4/50

YA, zombies, dystopia

Deuce is born into an enclave, a post apocolyptic human village that is in the tunnels of a subway system.  The oldest person there is 25 or so, and they look 70.  It is obviously a hard life, kids don’t even get names until they are 15 and then they are sorted into Hunter, Breeder or Builder status to help the enclave survive.  Deuce is a hunter, she hunts for meat in the tunnels and kills Freaks, basically zombies that eat any flesh they come across.

So, the root of discord in just about all the dystopians I have read is the government.  This story is no different.  Deuce grows up in this little grouping, spouting their propaganda and believing it, until she grows up a bit, sees some of the outside world and realizes more things stink than the freaks.  She does something altruistic, a word and action which doesn’t exist in this cruel, dark and fetid world and suffers the consequences.

Deuce is so innocent because she wholeheartedly believes what her elders teach her.  When she finds out things aren’t has black and white as she thought, she is devastated and confused…for a bit.  She is so strong that she is fun to read about.

But about half way through I lost a little steam.  I don’t know why, because there is still danger lurking everywhere…but I wanted to pick something else up…I felt like I was hitting the dreaded reading block!  Probably because I have been reading non-stop for the last couple of weeks.  But then I ignored my wishy washy feelings, picked it back up and didn’t stop till it was finished.

Fascinating, scary, nerve-wracking and intense.  The only thing I didn’t love was the new addition to their group and the possibility of a love triangle.  Deuce is so practical because of her enclave training, she doesn’t understand emotion or the softer things and sees them as weakness.  The new guy lived and ran with some horrible people and did horrible things, but her practical side sees him as a benefit to the group because he is strong and a good fighter.  So it will be interesting to see where it goes.

I like the world and worldbuilding, we are going to find out more about it in Outpost and I can’t wait to pick that up!  4 stars written in a water damaged book.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Dark Fantasy, Dystopia, Embarrassment of Riches, YA and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review – Enclave (Razorland Bk 1)

  1. Katie Turner says:

    Fantastic review. I have seen this one around before, but haven’t really looked at it. I have added it to my wishlist now after reading your review. It sounds great and I am loving all the dystopian books at the moment. Thanks

    Katie ~ Turner’s Antics

  2. diannegray says:

    Great review, Elisa 😉 I know how you feel about ‘reader’s block’ – it happens to the best of us 😉

  3. I have been dying to read this one. The losing steam part doesn’t sound good, but if you gave it 4 stars than I know it was good overall. The concept is so fun, right? Okay, maybe not fun. lol. But interesting.

  4. Nutschell says:

    Thanks for the review! been wanting to read this series for awhile now 🙂
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  5. The world building sounds great, I need to get around to this one. Sorry that you didn’t like the new character, but maybe they’ll grow on you in the next.
    Lovely review!
    Happy reading,
    Brandi @ Blkosiner’s Book Blog

Don't be shy!

