Review – The Mane Event/Attraction

mane eventThe Mane Event (Pride #1) & The Mane Attraction (Pride #3)

by Shelly Laurenston

Embarrassment of Riches 6 & 7/50

Overall – these are silly and fun, crass and hilarious, paranormal and sexy books.  Holy smokes.  They are easy and happy and I think in each series book another shifter is paired off with someone they have to coerce to admit they like each other.

Synopsis – You get a twofer in the first book (Mane Event), two novella length stories.  A lion and a human and then a lion and a wolf who were also in the first story.  The third book (Mane Attraction) is another lion and another wolf.

Review – If you don’t know what to read and enjoy the sillier side of paranormal and romance, pick these up. They made me giggle, and blush and laugh out loud.  They are super fun and I think I am going to have to push this series on my cousin, cause it is fully up her alley.  There are a bunch of books in the series, at least eight or so, but there are so many packs and shifter types, that there are plenty of single folks who need to settle down.  🙂

mane attractionThere is cross-breed rivalry as well as a lot of Yankee vs southerner rivalry.  But they are some more of that brain candy books that I seem to be devouring lately.  You don’t really need to read them in order though previous couples show up in later books.  I skipped #2 because I don’t have it yet, and I read #8 first, but it didn’t matter in the slightest.  Easy and fun, but I don’t think I could read another one for a while.  Some of those scenes tend to repeat themselves which makes certain sayings and things little less funny and less shocking – no more talk about “lead pipe” please! O_O  So I just got a couple more from my book swap site and think they need to cool their heels on my shelves for a while.  If I read them every once in a while, I give them 4 stars for laugh out loud funny stuff, but if I read them one after the other, they go down to 3.5 stars.

Covers – they are alright but certainly don’t encourage me to buy the books.  My husband got sick of looking at the muscle men which made me realize that the lion protagonists are golden haired, not sure who these guys are supposed to be!

Silly quote:

“So, hoss. Have you actually told her you’re in love with her?”

“She won’t let me. When I tried, she threw me down a flight of stairs.”

“And you’re not concerned about that?”

“There weren’t that many steps.”

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Embarrassment of Riches, Paranormal Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review – The Mane Event/Attraction

  1. Well, that bit of dialog had me laughing!

  2. diannegray says:

    LOL! I love that dialogue. Well done! 😉

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    I love the sillier side of paranormal. These sound awesome. I haven’t heard of them until now. I am intrigued. Hehe. Loved the quote.

Don't be shy!

