Review – Placenta of Love

placenta of lovePlacenta of Love

by Spike Marlow

Won e-book from Jess Resides Here – thanks for the intro to Bizarro Jess and Spike!

Overall – So strange in a perfectly understandable way

Summary – This is a weird and wacky story about a robo-pirate and a placenta fitted with an AI chip who fall in love.  It’s beautiful man!

Review – The genre is bizarro, so you kind of expect a wacky setting and situation.  This doesn’t disappoint.  In fact, even though it is pretty crazy, I would love to go to Venus and check out the amusement park rides and exhibits.  I especially love that the child care center doubles as the employment office when necessary.

This book, which is novella length I think (hard to tell on kindle but I flew through it!) was a fairly odd situation but filled with empathetic characters, a tiny bit like Edward Scissorhands.  Everyone is looking for love and when you find it, you hold onto it.  You just have to be careful of to provide your creations with what they need.  (remember that when you play Dr. Frankenstein!)

It is filled with humor, childlike wonder and the consequences of not thinking things through before acting.  But it is also about love and companionship and what we will do for both.  The characters are amazing, cats, pirates, priests and a giant placenta, all perfectly normal right?

Anyway, it was a lot of fun, completely wacked out, a little dirty and pretty dang funny.  This was my first bizarro book and I give it 4 orange vibrating stars.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Bizarro, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review – Placenta of Love

  1. diannegray says:

    I’m not sure I like the name…it kinda sounds a bit weird. But 4 orange vibrating stars overturns that initial cringe 😉

    • ocdreader says:

      Oh man, the whole thing is weird! There is an AI chip in a placenta that goes on a rampage. It is nuts and not a little bit dirty…but it was silly and entertaining and made me laugh…I know, the title is like – what?! and then you read it and go “ohhhhhh, it makes sense now.”

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    LMAO. That name. This sounds so weird but I am happy you enjoyed it.

  3. Ah, Jess and her bizarro. She’s trying to convert all of us, you know. Glad you enjoyed it. Let me know when you start devouring that stuff like her. 😉

    Jonathan
    http://www.ireadabookonce.com

Don't be shy!

