Review – Feed

feedFeed (Newsflesh #1)

by Mira Grant

We cured cancer and the common cold, but once those two medicines were combined, we created zombies.  Twenty years later mankind still survives and bloggers are a big part of the news (they broke the zombie stories and how to survive).  A Senator is running for president and part of his retinue are a couple of bloggers, the first ones allowed on the campaign trail.  This is their story.

I loved the backdrop.  The world building is amazing.  At times the worldbuilding dominates as the story waits in the wings, but I was entranced.  It begins with crazy zombie action to pull you in.  Santa Cruz, CA still isn’t safe but Shaun needs to poke a zombie with a stick for ratings and his sister Georgia is with him to film.  Shaun is the sensationalist and Georgia is the factual newsie.  Buffy is their techie and fictionalist who writes the poetry and stories.  The story is mainly told from Georgia’s POV interspersed with Shaun’s and most chapters have a blog post to start/end it so you get an idea of writing style as well as their inner thoughts.

So this is not a zombie book.  Zombies are the backdrop, the way of life and it isn’t pretty.  Everyone, when they die will rise, so you have to be very careful and armed most of the time.  If you get bit, the virus amplifies and you die and become the walking dead.  Any animal over 40 pounds can rise, so you can’t go hiking, let alone outside.  It is a crazy strict world where most people stay indoors and never gather in a crowd.  To go to a hotel, get in your house, enter your car or go shopping – you perform a blood test.  This book really is about the news.  About politics and about how far journalists go to break a story, and how far an agenda will take people and what they are willing to do.  It was crazy, it was horrible and it was fascinating.  I cried, but that is what I do.  I was at my sister’s and we were all hanging out reading as I was finishing this book and I couldn’t stop the tears.  Grant may have pulled a few emotional strings for a bit and I think I would have sobbed a little more if I didn’t have an audience.  *Sniff*

So, it is a zombie book too which means blood, guts, brains and people dying.  It isn’t for the faint of heart.  While this isn’t the grossest book I have read, it gets a little upsetting.

If you haven’t read this book and are interested in doing it, don’t read any reviews of book two because it will give some stuff away.  It is a dangerous world and a bunch of folks don’t make it on the campaign trail.  It is nuts.  I feel like I went through fire with these people and I really like them.  I can’t wait to read book two so we can hang out some more.  I know they are taking all the risks living in this world I am just visiting, but I really enjoyed our time together.  Thank goodness this isn’t the Neverending Story where I get sucked in, because I don’t think I would last very long.  Anyway, 4 stars seen above an enclosed zombie-proof (this includes large mammals) area so you can lay down outside and feel safe while staring at the sky.

Could you imagine being taken down by your zombie dog or a moose?!  Man…what a world.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Horror, Paranormal. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Review – Feed

  1. Erin C. says:

    i’m reading it right now and am really enjoying it!

  2. diannegray says:

    I think I’ve said this to you before about this book – but I love that cover. Sounds like the story is just as good!

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    I really want to read this book. I like when zombies are more in the background. I am so into zombie books in general right now. Happy you enjoyed Feed.

  4. I’ve read this book and I loved it! I haven’t started the second book but it’s already waiting for me.

  5. beckyday6 says:

    This sounds awesome! I’ve seen the book series vaguely around quite a lot, but as soon as I saw zombies I wasn’t really interested. Your review makes it sound really awesome though, so I might just have to give it a go. 😀 I look forward to seeing what you think of the next books!

    • ocdreader says:

      No zombies for you huh? I love that they are in the background, part of life and you have to deal with them. Though I am on a zombie kick lately, I just picked up Generation Dead, though it is Disney Hyperion publisher, I don’t think it gets too yucky! 🙂

      • beckyday6 says:

        Ha ha yeah, the thing is I’ve never actually read a zombie book! But I’ve seen a lot of films, and although they’re entertaining, they also tend to be very similar, and the idea of a zombie book doesn’t really appeal. But who knows? I could seriously be missing out! 🙂

      • ocdreader says:

        ahhh! you have to try one. I dont’ much go for zombie movies, though I loved Zombieland, I am liking the books. I am excited to get a hold of Warm Bodies, especially before seeing the movie. That one I want to see!

      • beckyday6 says:

        Ohh definitely, the film looks hilarious! I really love the trailer. 🙂

Don't be shy!

