Review – The Girl of Fire and Thorns

girl fire and thornsThe Girl of Fire and Thorns (Bk 1)

by Rae Carson

Library (I couldn’t let is sit on the shelf as I walked by)

Holy smokes I had a good time reading this book.  Elisa (yes, I had to read about a protagonist with the same name as mine) was a lovely heroine.  She is the chosen one, the one chosen by God every 100 years.  She is a princess but knows little except for a few things she knows really well.  She hates her sister because she thinks her sister hates her, and feels a burden to her and her father.  So she eats.

She is married off to Alejandro, the king of the neighboring country and has to start defending herself right away, but not in ways you might think.  This story is about a girl who becomes her true potential, who takes chances, learns about herself and the world around her and finds a core of strength, and love.

This is my favorite type of story.  The heroine is book smart, feels useless and lame next to her family members and basically thinks she lives under the radar.  She doesn’t know what the heck is going on.  So we don’t either.  But as she figures things out, the reader does as well.  We learn as she grows into the kick-ass girl she is supposed to be and her heartbreak is ours.

The romance is sweet and I loved the guy who was sweet on her.  She is only 16 when married off and her defense is to eat and  hide behind her fat so she is awkward in romance, but she figures things out well enough, though everything is pretty PG.

What is not PG is the violence.  They are at war and the violence, once it starts doesn’t end easily.  There are some awful, heartbreaking things.  I am really looking forward to the next book to find out why some of these things had to happen though!  Argh.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this book.  The world is pretty well flushed out, there are bad guys galore, Elisa comes into her own to become a force to be reckoned with…it is a lovely transformation because while her outter self does change as well, it is the inner self that is the most beautiful.  Honestly, this is another one that is in my genre sweet spot, a Tamora Pierce-like heroine and a world torn asunder, I give it 4.5 jeweled stars, fit inside a necklace pendant that shoots fire.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Fiction, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Review – The Girl of Fire and Thorns

  1. meganm922 says:

    Awesome review! I purchased this book a while ago, but I haven’t gotten around to reading. Your review makes me want to pick it up right now! Wish I didn’t have deadlines, but I will definitely move it up on my priority list!

  2. I have really keen to see some reviews on this book. It’s been popping up everywhere. So glad to see yours first. Now I know I will it. Thanks.

  3. Cathy i says:

    I couldn’t put this down. Thought of Elisa during the middle of the night , got up and started reading, finished it today. Even got on the Exercycle so I would have an excuse to sit and read! How sad is that? A heroes journey.

  4. jenniferbielman says:

    Well wow, I would have never picked this book up without your review. I have never seen a book character hide behind food before. It’s so real life. Great review. I might get it now.

  5. Sounds like a great one. I really like the sound of it and that cover is lovely.

  6. beckyday6 says:

    Another really interesting sounding book, you’re going to wreck havoc on my tbr pile missy. 😛
    This book does seem vaguely familiar to me actually, but I’m not sure why…

    • ocdreader says:

      hahah, my TBR is a mountain, and those are just the ones I own…there are a bazillion more I still need to get my hands on somehow…sigh…the work of multiple lifetimes!

Don't be shy!

