Review – Supernatural Freak

supernaturalfreakSupernatural Freak

by Louisa Klein

This story starts with a bang and keeps going!  It is crazy good fun, especially if you like lots of action and have a love of paranormal fitting into our mundane world.

Robyn is a paranormal freak, meaning she has powers that don’t fit with any particular sub-group.  She is running a business for other paranormals and is requested to help a politician’s son who is turning into a tree.  Unfortunately she barely starts thinking about the case when problem after problem occurs.  She is lucky she has so many talented friends and family to help her out including her dog, or regardless of how talented she is, she might not make it.

There is a teensy bit of romance, or rather interest.  Though Robyn doesn’t seem to see it which makes me want to read a sequel to see if anything comes of it!   🙂

I loved how this takes place in our world, but the paranormal element is hidden.  I also loved the full fleshing out of the events happening.  Robyn is not something I have seen before and her paranormal backstory is fascinating to me.  It is quite involved though once the answers start coming I must admit I got a tiny bit lost, but it pretty much clears itself up to enjoy the story.

There is a lot going on, which at times is difficult to follow along with the why of everything.  I was confused of who was good and who was bad and who can swing both ways.  Also, there were some jokes that fell a little flat for me.

There is only a hint at romance, but the action was the main focus here and it doesn’t disappoint.  A bit like a Cassie Palmer book, it just doesn’t hardly stop to take a breath and keeps you going.  The poor characters get no break once it starts!

But, this was a solid first novel and while it easily stands alone, I really hope to see a sequel as the worldbuilding would easily allow further adventures by Robyn and her friends.  4 stars that form a constellation, I see a cat, what do you see?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review – Supernatural Freak

  1. So happy to hear this was a good one. I turned down the review request but I always wondered how it was. It has been getting around too.

  2. Pingback: I love my bloggers! | LOST IN FICTION

Don't be shy!

