Frivolous Fridays March 15

For any of you interested in viewing stars and the night sky, the comet PANSTARRS will still be visible from the northern hemisphere for another week or so.  We finally saw it last night.  The tail makes it more exciting than a star and the fact that we could find it with our cheapie binoculars made us feel pretty dang cool.  Since we live in a valley it was tough to find a spot to view it, (dang mountains and trees) but turns out our best view was from our deck at home!  Who knew?  Initially we tried up the hill near some homes.  I think the neighbors thought us peeping toms and had a few choice words thrown our way (or so it seemed).  Oh well.  They could have come outside to see what we were doing instead of just giving us dirty looks, whatever.  But oh well, we saw the comet!!  Woo hoo!

I am too scared of copywrite laws since that one blogger was sued for posting male models on her site, so you need to check out the forbes article below to see a pic and find out where to look and when.

http://www.forbes.com/sites/davidewalt/2013/03/13/how-to-see-comet-panstarrs-while-you-can/

Did you happen to see the comet?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Frivolous Fridays March 15

  1. pooks says:

    Yes, we saw it twice this week. Well, correction. I was there. My husband took pictures. The haze of city light pollution and such made it difficult to discern and I didn’t really “see” it until he showed me the view through the camera lens.

  2. I will look out for it when it reaches our southern skies. It looks beautiful on the forbes pic. And let the neighbours imagine what they want . . . their obviously have very shallow lives. Or their TV was broken!

    • ocdreader says:

      Hahaha, I know, right? My husband was the one stressing (so I didn’t have to). I was figuring a police cruiser might stop by to see what we were doing if we were there much longer. Would have been funny.

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    Wow, I didn’t know about this. I wonder if I can still see it from my house.

Don't be shy!

