Top Ten Books I Had to Have…but still haven’t read

My first participation in the Top Ten Tuesday meme by The Broke and the Bookish.  A lot of the blogs I follow participate so I decided to today, because yes, if my books were toys like those from Toy Story, I have a lot of sad, neglected and bored books on my shelves!  In some cases (too many) there are multiples for a series.

1. Sacre Bleu by Christopher Moore – This wasn’t so long ago…but I had to get the colorful hardcover. It is gorgeous and I need to read it.

2. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver, along with The Lacuna.  Haven’t touched them.

3. The Highlander series by Karen Marie Moning. I read the first 2 which were good, the other 5 or so are waiting.

4. The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by JR Ward – I read the first two or three, I just got book 10 from paperbackswap. I keep collecting them for “some day”.

5. Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead, the 6th in the Vampire Academy series. It is the last book, why can’t I read it?  It has been waiting for at least a year.

6. Succubus Blues by Richelle Mead – I liked Vampire Academy so I grabbed this at a used bookstore a few years ago…

7. Absolute Midnight by Clive Barker – the 3rd Abarat book I got for myself and my mom when it first came out. I don’t think either of us have read it yet. We tell ourselves we are building suspense or some sort of crap like that.

8. The Magician’s by Lev Grossman – I really wanted this for some Christmas or other

9. Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments. I read City of Bone but haven’t touched the other four or so I have.

10. The Thorn Birds, Emma, Vanity Fair…le sigh, it doesn’t end.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Meme. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Top Ten Books I Had to Have…but still haven’t read

  1. Don’t feel bad! We all have these little problems. Even though I didn’t participate in this today, I’ve so enjoyed reading everyone’s posts. Been such fun.

  2. There’s a 3rd Abarat book?! I love that series!!!! I had no idea!
    The last 2 of The Mortal Instrument series are on my list. I think the fact that the last book doesn’t come out until 2014 is what slowed me down.
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesdays Post
    Megan @ Love, Literature, Art, and Reason

    • ocdreader says:

      I know, isn’t it wonderful? And I hear that he is working on more. But he has to paint everything first, then write the story, so it takes forever.
      I blame it on 2014 too. Works for me! 🙂

  3. megan says:

    Why do we do this to ourselves? Book buying is such a compulsion! I listened to Sacre Bleu and enjoyed it. In many ways it’s different from Moore’s other books, but the it still has his trademark irreverent humor.

    • ocdreader says:

      I know, it is crazy, but I don’t watch tv much, or go to the movies…so I tell myself it is ok.
      Good, at least one person who has read/listened to it and enjoyed. 🙂

  4. diannegray says:

    The story of my life! I always have the greatest intentions when I buy books…

  5. cleemckenzie says:

    I’ve only read one book on your list! I guess I’d better get busy. Thanks for listing all of these.

  6. elena says:

    I’ve heard generally good things about Black Dagger Brotherhood. It doesn’t seem like my thing normally but it sounds fun!

    • ocdreader says:

      I read a lot of stuff, just cause it is fun 🙂 It is one of those where each big strapping vampire gets a book to find his one true love, along with some setting development. Good, I don’t remember much after, but I have a good time while reading. lol

  7. jenniferbielman says:

    Great list of books. I have the same problem, even if I am super excited about a book, sometimes I just can’t get to it. I have wht whole Vampire Academy series and I haven’t touched it.

  8. Sara says:

    I read The Thorn Birds not long after the mini-series aired in (what?!) 1983. I must have read it in/after 6th grade? What were my parents thinking? That’s a lot of romance for a preteen!

  9. Dayle Lynne says:

    I couldn’t get into Succubus Blues at all. The Black Dagger Brotherhood is on my list and I’ll read anything by Christopher Moore! I’ll have to check out the rest 🙂

  10. Britt says:

    I am always falling into the black hole of needing to get a certain book because I have to read it right now and then… nothing. It just sits on my bedside table because of all the library books I have to get through before they’re due. Grrrr!

Don't be shy!

