WWW Wednesdays March 27th

Happy Wednesday! WWW – What have I finished, What am I reading? and What am I going to read next?  Play along with our host MizB from Should Be Reading.

patient zeriomasque red deathThis week I finished a couple of things…Patient Zero by Jonathan Maberry which was a tense thriller about a terrorist plot to destroy America by releasing a plague that turns everyone into zombies!  It was full of action and the lead is snarky and sort of a super hero. I also finished Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin which is an atmospheric YA, pretty creepy and it also deals with a plague, no zombies though.

winterblazenight circusI am currently reading Winterblaze (Darkest London, Bk 3) by Kristen Callihan which is a super fun paranormal romance. I should finish that today and will pick The Night Circus back up.  I am also still reading my kindle serial, The Outer Rims by Clint Morey which I am enjoying and am looking forward to the main protag kicking some booty!

Next up, after The Night Circus will be The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty because it is my bookclub’s pick and we are meeting next Wednesday.  I am cutting it close!

What are you guys reading this week?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Meme, WWW Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to WWW Wednesdays March 27th

  1. What? Only reading one books and a Kindle series? I hate to point this out, but you’re slacking! Seriously, how come you dropped Night Circus? Everyone is raving about it.

    • ocdreader says:

      I know. I ran out of hours last week doing other stuff! I have a lot of books with time limits and I am trying to get them read before I have to send them away (I have in a book swap website and promised some away) I also try to have enough time to let my mom read them too. Night Circus deadline is a ways away so that was the one that had to shift. Constant juggling I tells ya! 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      LOL – I KNOW! Had to drop it to fit in some other books that were ticking time bombs cause I had to send them out by a certain date. I picked Night Circus back up, it is lovely, but there isn’t a ton of action, plus you have to keep an eye on the timing of things, the years fly by without much happening. It is more quiet and subtle than you would expect. Not that I don’t like it, I do, just saying.

  2. meganm922 says:

    LOVE the cover (and synopsis) of Patient Zero! I’ve heard great things about The Masque of the Red Death, I just haven’t picked it up for some reason.
    I hope you enjoy The Night Circus! =)
    Here’s my WWW Wednesdays Post
    Megan @ Love, Literature, Art, and Reason

    • ocdreader says:

      I really liked Patient Zero and now must get my hands on the other books in that series. Such fun! I read one has vampires. The crazy thing is, this first book was not paranormal, everything can be explained by science. Love that!

  3. I seriously need to get some more zombie fic into my life. I forget how much I love that high intensity, heart-pounding gory goodness. And there’s always some snark, which I love. : ) Patient Zero looks awesome.

    I LOVED Masque of the Red Death and CANNOT WAIT for Dance. I hope you enjoyed it the same. : )

    I need to pick up The Night Circus – I swear I’m the last one to read almost everything. And the Chaperone looks awesome! Roaring 20’s, favorite era for HF for me right now. Go figure.

  4. Patient Zero sounds interesting! I’m not into zombie fic or even zombies themselves 😉 but I totally adore vampires with souls 😛 LOVED Spike from the Buffy series – he was the King of Snark!!

  5. ChrissiReads says:

    Patient Zero sounds good! I hope you enjoy your books this week.

  6. Deneé J. says:

    I didn’t like the Night Circus all too much, but Masque of the Red Death is on my to-read list 🙂 I’ll look into Patient Zero, as I haven’t read a zombie book yet. (I don’t think the Bailey School Kids “Zombies Don’t Play Soccer” counts, lol!)

    WWW Wed. at Novel Reveries

    • ocdreader says:

      haha, that one sounds kind of different! Patient Zero was fun because it was a thriller mixed with a zombie book. Quite liked that! There was a way to save the world instead of simply trying to stay alive.

  7. Kwizgiver says:

    I’ve got The Chaperone on my TBR, I’m interested in what you think of it.

  8. katybrandes says:

    I really liked The Night Circus, and I hope you do as well. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    • ocdreader says:

      I am loving it though hoping something shakes loose soon! The years are flying by and the game is afoot, but poor Celia still doesn’t know who her opponent is, crazy

  9. diannegray says:

    A plague that turns everyone into zombies? Hmmm – highly intriguing (and a little scary!) 😉

    It sounds like you’re overly busy with reading at the moment – you’re an absolute star! 😉

    • ocdreader says:

      Yes, and I am worried about burn-out! Isn’t that funny? I have a blog every day in April challenge (AtoZ) coming up and think I will take a break from my normal review schedule just to give myself a change and relax a bit on the books. Maybe watch a TV show.

  10. I really need to read the Callihan books. I heard they are amazing. So excited to read your review of Masque of Red Death.

  11. I freakin love books with suspense! I have Night Circus sitting on my shelf and I cannot wait to read it. Patient Zero looks really intriguing. Awesome picks!

    Leigh
    Little Book Star

  12. I am curious about Masque of Red Death. How was it?

    Thanks for droppin by my WWWs!

    Michelle Shouts Random

  13. Layla says:

    I’m still chugging along with Anna Karenina. I’m also rereading Keeper of Genesis, a non-fiction book about the Sphinx and Giza Necropolis. It’s one of my faves 🙂

Don't be shy!

