A is for Authors #AtoZChallenge

a2z-2013-badge-co-med_zpsebce8fbfMy first post for the A-to-Z Challenge 2013!  My theme for April will be a mash-up of my hobbies, since these are the things I do on a daily/weekly basis, they make sense for me.  Books, cooking/baking and hiking/outdoors.  Also, a HUGE thank you to Arlee Bird of Tossing it Out, the founder of the A to Z Challenge, this is only my second year, but I love April now.  🙂

Today I am going to list the top five most-read Authors I have from goodreads.com.  Honestly I haven’t listed all the books I have read in my life on goodreads (I was addicted to Clive Cussler years ago but can’t remember the book names), but it is close enough.  Since these are authors that write series that I love, it makes sense!

1. Tamora Pierce at 24 – I LOVE her books with her strong coming-of-age heroines.  They are all middle grade to young adult and they are not to be missed.

2. Laurel K Hamilton at 23 – Anita Blake was the first urban fantasy series I really chomped into.  The books have devolved into paranormal romance/erotica and the plots have suffered for it in my opinion, though I will eventually catch up with the series for old times sake and in the hope things turn around.  **fingers crossed**

3. Kelley Armstrong at 19 – I absolutely adore her Women of the Underworld series.  If you like Paranormal/Urban Fantasy check them out.  She also has a YA spinoff and an assassin mystery series and she keeps changing things up.

4. Patricia Briggs at 18 – either Urban Fantasy or pure fantasy, Patricia Briggs writes some excellent stories with relateable characters.  This number would be higher if I counted the rereads.

5. Ilona Andrews and Kim Harrison at 14 – these ladies will be higher when they write more books!  Urban fantasy with a love interest.  Awesome world and character building.

I seem to be addicted to a certain genre as well as the authors…Are you addicted to any particular author?  Do tell.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013, Random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to A is for Authors #AtoZChallenge

  1. Good morning! Just making the A-Z challenge rounds. 🙂

    I’ve only read the first Laurel K Hamilton book. It was an okay urban fantasy, but I could already see where the series was headed in terms of paranormal romance/erotica, and just wasn’t interested in following along.

  2. viveka says:

    Thanks for the tips …. before I moved abroad … I had owned 1450 books and I had read everyone … for the last 10 years I have bought about 40 books .. and I have read none … I have lost the urge completely … I hope it will come back to me. *smile
    Good luck with the challenge.

    • ocdreader says:

      I went through reading phases too, but when I lived in NY and rode the subway every day, I couldn’t stop reading. Now that I blog books I am even more obsessed, I do miss those subway rides though…I would sometimes miss my stops when it was a good story 🙂

  3. So we start! So excited for your posts this month. I love Kelly Armstrong too. Will check out the other authors.

  4. i am so bad at getting books and they sit collecting dust… though i have read every reference book i have ever owned… that is weird i guess?

    • ocdreader says:

      Many of mine collect dust too (but that is because I am a book hoarder and bring home more than I can read)! Even the reference books collect dust – unless I need to look something up of course 🙂

  5. Pete Denton says:

    I found your site through the A to Z Challenge list. I’m addicted to reading Dean Koontz Odd Thomas series at the moment, I keep buying the next in the series and have to force myself to read something else before I read the next one.

    Good luck with the rest of the alphabet 🙂

  6. Grover says:

    I’m ashamed to say I haven’t read any of your top five! I’m not sure I’m addicted to one writer, but I definitely go through phases of loving (and sticking with) one author.

    (Grover at Inane Ramblings)

    • ocdreader says:

      It is funny, cause while I enjoy these authors, if you asked me for my absolute favorites, all of these might not be on that list! Thanks for dropping by Grover 🙂

  7. Lucy Ravitch says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I like your theme. I enjoy cooking/baking too (and notice all the math lessons in it too). Looking forward to more posts!

    Kids Math Teacher

  8. Daniel B. says:

    Love it. What a great way to start out A to Z!

    Keep at it, and I’ll be back!

  9. Great challenge! Good Luck and I’m looking forward to your posts 🙂 In keeping with the letter theme, my favourite author would have to be Agatha Christie seeing as I own her entire collection and know most books by heart! I’m attempting the NaPoWriMo challenge this month – 30 poems in 30 days!

    • ocdreader says:

      I have been itching to read an Agatha Christie book lately. I should give in and do it, will be fun!
      Dang! Good luck with the poetry challenge – I hope you post some and about writing them, I will live vicariously through you 🙂

      • You should! It’ll only take a couple of hours! You should read And Then There Were None or The Murder of Roger Ackroyd…two of my faves 🙂 I will be posting the poems on my blog…I’m trying my hand at Haikus!

      • ocdreader says:

        Those are my favorite, so much packed into so little – I will look for those stories, thanks for the rec!

  10. Gossip Grl says:

    For many years I read Harlequin and Silhouette Romances. A friend is going to let me borrow her Sylvia Day books when she is finished reading.

  11. DL Hammons says:

    I am also a Clive Cussler fan from way back. My wife still reads ALL his novels. 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      I want to pick up another Dirk Pitt book but I can’t remember where I left off! My step-mom is an avid fan as well. All I know is I lost A LOT of sleep when engaged in his save the world novels. Good times.

  12. Making the A to Z rounds, myself. Some of those are some of my favorites, too! Just FYI, tried to click on the follow by RSS button, and it just brings up a page of code, no ways to add the feed.

    • ocdreader says:

      hmmm, I poked around at it and tried it myself and gave me an option to follow via google reader or something. I wonder if it is the browser? huh.

  13. Janeal Falor says:

    I’ve read Kelly Armstrong’s YA series and really enjoyed it. Can’t wait to get my hands on The Rising. I also really like Kim Harrington’s Madison Avery trilogy. Some really good authors.

    • ocdreader says:

      I haven’t read the Madison Avery ones yet. She wrote Clarity right? That was fun, I will have to look those up – love that YA!

      • Janeal Falor says:

        Ack – Madison Avery is by Kim Harrison, not Harrington. But Kim Kim Harrington did write Clarity, which I really liked as well. Reading another by her right now, The Dead and Buried, and so far it’s pretty good. I need to read the squeal to that one. YA is fantastic!

      • ocdreader says:

        I knew the name sounded familiar – I read that Harrison trilogy too. lol – I mess up their last names as well, even if just in my head. 🙂

  14. Nagzilla says:

    I love me some Neil Gaiman and Anne Rice. For non fiction, I love Anne Lamott. Good luck with the rest of the challenge!

    Hi from Nagzilla bloghopping A to Z

  15. I didn’t know you were a Hamilton fan. Her Anita Blake Series was my first UF series too. It’s so sad the erotica had to ruin the plot of each book after it was introduced. I don’t read the series anymore but I cherish the first ten books.

    And of course Andrew and Harrison are awesome.

    • ocdreader says:

      You are my book soul sister! Love it. I will keep those first 8-10 paperbacks on my shelves…probably till I reread them and decide I am being sentimental.

  16. I’m addicted to so many authors I can’t keep up with their books. Current favorites are mystery writers Craig Johnson and William Kent Krueger.

  17. Jack says:

    This is a fun idea. I haven’t heard of many of these authors, just Tamora Pierce really. I should look the others up

  18. Zainab says:

    I love reading Rick Riordan. The way he mixes mythology into the modern world is ingenious. Okay, the list of authors I’m addicted to is quite long and I’ll never stop talking once I get into the subject.

    Nice first post. Can’t wait to read more!

    P.S. I love your screen name. ocdreader fits me all too well 🙂

  19. Very nice! I have a ton of Janet Evanovich books on my shelves. 🙂

  20. beckyday6 says:

    I love Kelley Armstrong but I have only read the first book from the Otherworld so far, I think I might put Stolen as a potential read for the 24 hour readathon. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂 I loved Clay in the first book!

  21. Joe Owens says:

    All of these authors are new to me. Perhaps i will check out their work since you seem to find them such a good source of reading material.

  22. Dayle Lynne says:

    I never got into the Anita Blake series . . . partly because after reading the first book, I couldn’t find the second one, and I’m a stickler for reading in order! . . . However, I LOVE the Merry Gentry series!

    I’ll have to check out the other authors!

Don't be shy!

