WWW Wednesdays – April 3rd

Happy Wednesday fellow readers! Play along with our host MizB and talk about

1. What you finished 2. What are your current reads and 3. What are you reading next

chaperonelanguage of flowersI just now, about 10 minutes ago finished The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty about a woman who chaperoned Louise Brooks when she went to NY before she became famous. Quite enjoyable and our discussion during bookclub tomorrow should be good. I also finished The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh about a foster care kid who comes to terms with her difficult life and the people who tried to care for and love her. It was compulsively readable and interesting to learn about flowers and their meanings since Victorian times. I also finished Winterblaze by Kristen Callihan – super awesome paranormal romance, if you love those you cannot go wrong reading this series.

night circusoriginI am still reading The Night Circus. I keep having to set the poor thing down while I finish other books I have promised to send away or read for bookclub.  It is really good. I am going to pick it back up tonight and not read anything else until I am done.  I am also reading Origin by Jessica Khoury, I have to read and send this one away as well. Why do I do this to myself?  It is YA about a girl created in a laboratory deep in the Amazon jungle. Things are odd and slightly mysterious, I am iffy about this one so far.

spy in the houseWhat is next, huh, I don’t know. I have a few books where I have read a chapter or two, or I kind of need to read them, but I really want to read A Spy in the House (The Agency #1) by YS Lee.  It looks like fun, is a YA historical mystery and it is calling my name  🙂 That or an Agatha Christie or something.  Though knowing me it will be something else entirely!

What are you reading this week?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Meme, WWW Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to WWW Wednesdays – April 3rd

  1. oooo – i love so many books on your WWW! The Chaperone is my book club pick too, LOVED The Language of Flowers, so want to read The Night Circus!

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

  2. Origin is on my to read list. It looks interesting! Hope you are enjoying. I overextend myself with deadlines, too. I have so many books to read all the time. It never ends and the list never gets shorter! ha.
    Here’s my WWW Wednesdays Post
    Megan @ Love, Literature, Art, and Reason

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    I have the Language of Flowers on my TBR list. I must get round to it soon, I’m very excited about reading it! Have a great week!

  4. Kwizgiver says:

    I LOVED the Language of Flowers. And I’m disappointed that the Night Circus isn’t capturing you as it did me. I’ve added The Chaperone to my list for my book group’s summer selections!

    • ocdreader says:

      Oh it has captured me, but I HAD to put it down or I would have had to send out books without reading them, or gone to bookclub without reading the book…and I just can’t do that!! Obsessed much? 🙂

  5. Janeal Falor says:

    I enjoyed reading The Agency series, it was fun. The rest I haven’t read, but Origin sounded good. Sad it’s iffy for you so far, hopefully it picks up.

  6. Though it seems like they are not your fav, I am still interested in Night Circus and Origins.

    • ocdreader says:

      Night Circus is beautiful and I didn’t want to rush it, hence the setting down to deal with the fires. I feel bad and hope I don’t forget anything. But I am back in it and enjoying, so all seems good.
      Origin, good so far…we will see! Hasn’t grabbed me by the throat and shaken me about yet, but it has shaken its fist at me a time or two.

  7. pooks says:

    I listened to The Night Circus as an audiobook and found it difficult to track. I wish I’d read it instead.

    The Agency sounds cool, as do most of the books on your list. Origin is the only one that doesn’t grab me.

    • ocdreader says:

      That would be tough! Too many names and bouncing around in time. Plus the chapter breaks which describe just a scene…
      Origin is good so far, I guess I am just worried about where it is going…we will see!

  8. The Night Circus is honestly one of my favorite books because of the grand descriptions. It’s like looking through a portal into a whole other world. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

Don't be shy!

