D is for Dreamscape #atozchallenge

a-to-z-letters-dA-Z Challenge, post 4, D – I know in the movie The Ref Denis Leary says people should stop talking about their dreams, because who really cares…but holy moly, the other morning was a doozy.  So I am sharing.  Hahah, sorry Denis.

I was in my house when a tiger started chasing me (just go with it).  So like any normal person (ha!) I started moving through the house closing doors behind me.  Unfortunately, most of the doors were flimsy and didn’t go all the way to the ground so he could stalk right under them, but for some reason I continued trying to close them.  He finally got really close with his mouth wide open when I threw a couple of pencils down his throat.  While he was busy trying to cough them up I locked him in a room with a real door.  (it was scary being armed only with a pencil while staring down the jaws of a tiger I tell you!)  I ran through the house and noticed all the claw marks on the doors and places he jumped while chasing me.  Eeek.

He got out of the room and my horse(?) and my black lab mix dog(?) started trying to draw him away from me and outside.  The tiger shifted into a horse as well and bit my horse on the back.  He was going to eat him, which was a weird scene until I then drew his attention away, got him close and then stabbed him in the eyes with more pencils (I seemed to have an unending supply).  I was crying and telling him I was sorry, I didn’t want to kill him, but he wouldn’t stop!  So I was really shoving those pencils into head, trying to pierce his brain.  It was yucky, I remember the resistance and the goo.

Then I woke up.

So, now I am sort of worried the dream police will find my murder of the horse/tiger unjustified.  Will I get proper representation?  Will the judge be similar to the Queen of Hearts?  Because it really felt like I was in wonderland or an MC Escher painting with that house and those doors.

I am not a writer, am I allowed the use pencils to kill the things in my dreams? Should I not bore people with my dreams? 🙂  What are your thoughts?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013, Random. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to D is for Dreamscape #atozchallenge

  1. You need help. The men with white coats will be calling soon. In the meantime, keep taking the pills! LOL. I thought I was the only one whose dreams tipped 100 on the dream-o-meter.

  2. pooks says:

    I’m sure it had to be terrifying but what an amazing dream. The pen is mightier than the sword HAS to have some meaning here.

  3. Inger says:

    As long as the dream is this entertaining, please do share it.

  4. Sisyphus47 says:

    Please dream and share your dreams: the stuff of good literature dreams are! And many other things besides, inventions… 😉

  5. Nagzilla says:

    That dream is ripe for interpretation! Just a basic look says the tiger represents repressed emotions or feminine sexuality. Trying to lock the doors means you’re trying to close yourself off from it, but the weak doors show that they won’t hold for long and you’ll have to deal with the power you’re repressing. Stabbing it with pencils could be a way to show that you will only be able to release the energy through your writing. Powerful dream!

  6. Ciara Knight says:

    Pencil in the brain? Yuck. Sounds like something from a book. 😉

  7. Cathy i says:

    Whoa, love the dream interpretation! I think that truly nailed it.

  8. Layla says:

    Had you been watching Life of Pi? :p

    I cracked up, thought it was hilarious. Please share more of your whacky dreams 😀

    • ocdreader says:

      NO! I know, I don’t know where the big cat came from but I often (when I remember) have danger dreams. I just don’t remember them all that often.
      You asked for it! Glad you got a kick out of it, I sure did

  9. Nancy Jardine says:

    Dreams for me definitely vanish in the night. I kmow I’m dreaming but rarely have scary/zany ones. The Escher stairs /maze sounds pretty familiar, though not frightrning – challenges to work through 😉

  10. cleemckenzie says:

    You can’t possibly bore people with dreams like that!

  11. Daniel B. says:

    Man alive, I wish my dreams were that vivid…or that I could remember them that well.

  12. the dream police might definitely be after you. And you should kill all those trees using pencils to safe yourself.

  13. ROFL…quite the Amazon you are tackling that Big Bad Tiger with the humble pencil 😉 I wonder whether dreams are catching?! Having laughed at your tiger should I maybe stock up on some pencils for mine? 😉

  14. diannegray says:

    LOL! This is amazing and hilarious (but I could imagine it would have been terrifying at the time!)

    I agree with Nagzilla’s interpretation. You definitely need to write (in fact, I think you’re a great writer from reading your posts). “…shoving those pencils into his head, trying to pierce his brain,” to me sounds like you’re really trying to get into someone’s head (maybe even your own).

    My hubby had a dream a few months back that he pulled a wasp out of my ear because it was trying to tell me something – then I had the situation with the wasp last week at the RUC (coincidence? I’m not sure)

    I find the more I dream, the more I write. There could be a story in this dream about a shape-shifter who can only be controlled by lead (lead pencils). Who knows – you could take this story to the max! 😀

  15. O. M. G. That was hilarious. I actually love having weird dreams like that. I loved the pencils. You can never get too many pencils. hehehe. I think you should be fine, but that poor tiger. You should be ashamed. They are such beautiful creatures. HAHAHA. J/K Gotta protect yourself any way you can.

  16. Cynthia says:

    Saying hello from A to Z. I don’t mind hearing people’s dreams most of the time. When something’s bugging me in a dream, it often doesn’t occur to me until I wake up that I could’ve just asked the person or thing, Why are you bugging me?

  17. Shannon says:

    Stopping on the A to Z Challenge. That peep cake looks so good, I can’t even remember what I was going to say about today’s post… dreams… yes, very good, especially with peeps in them! I’m a new follower – good luck with the challenge.
    Shannon
    Shannon’s Book Bag

  18. I’m visiting from Smurfin’ The Web, thanks for stopping by my blog. I had a bizarre dream the other night. It was something out of Inception, it was a dream WITHIN a dream. I was obviously really asleep dreaming, but the dream was that I was in exactly the same place and position but was awake and talking to my wife. I suppose it was a bit like looking into one of those mirrors that repeats itself over and over, needless to say I had a very surreal feeling when I actually DID wake up, lol.

  19. Pete Denton says:

    Great dream. Maybe you have a desperate need to have sharpened pencils and this is drifting over to your subconscious. The constant usage as a weapon a way of informing your conscious mind to buy a pencil sharpener. Keep sharing 🙂

Don't be shy!

