E is for Endangered #atozchallenge

IMG_7985Endangered plant alert! I saw the Ojai Fritillary on my hike two weekends ago and I even took pictures because I thought it looked neat! I love when I do awesomely nerdy things without knowing that they are cool. The Los Padres Forest Watch website says there are only 40 known locations where this subtle and shy lily grows. It was tough to spot because the flowers are like bells with the opening facing towards the ground. Plus their green and yellow coloring allows them to blend into the background fairly well unless you really look.IMG_7986 IMG_7990IMG_7988

Enjoy the pictures, they only grow in Ventura and Santa Barbara counties and I guess are pretty rare at that.  My husband is into the plant natives around here and he was impressed I spotted it. He proceded to tell his native plant buddies and they are all going to go hiking to see if they can spot it too.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to E is for Endangered #atozchallenge

  1. Ciara Knight says:

    I’ve always been fascinated with anything endangered to our planet. Thanks for these fantastic pictures.

  2. pooks says:

    Amazing! So very cool!

  3. erin c says:

    looks like an orchid. Good find! So awesomely nerdy 🙂

  4. orneryswife says:

    SOOOO pretty! Wow, what a find! Happy E day!
    tm

  5. They really are lovely and so understated. thanks for sharing.

  6. That’s really beautiful. I love any yellow plant. We have forsythia here in full bloom now. Your plant is similar–at least from the photograph.

    Mary Montague Sikes

  7. natalie says:

    Lovely, How much fun to find them and actually know something about their history. The yellow color — I know the Banana Slug is also a resident not far away–why the color I always wondered?

  8. Pete Denton says:

    Great photos, thanks for sharing.

  9. Daniel B. says:

    I’ve got this friend who has made it a habit to transplant endangered plants to his backyard “garden.” I’m sure any forest ranger walking by would stand agog at what’s growing in there.

  10. I’ve never seen those!! Very odd looking little plant!
    Connie
    A to Z buddy
    Peanut Butter and Whine

  11. I love learning about that kind of stuff. But it’s sad they are endangered. Very pretty plant.

  12. diannegray says:

    What a pretty flower! Well spotted! 😉

  13. beckyday6 says:

    Wow, I love the bottom left shot, it’s fantastic! I love photo’s where the main subject is really clear and the background is out of focus. 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Those are my favorites too – I have been playing with my camera a lot these days, it is quite fun, flowers pose for as long as you want 🙂

      • beckyday6 says:

        Yeah it’s the reason I really want an SLR camera because you can only really do it with those but they are so expensive. 😦

      • ocdreader says:

        Ah yea, luckily I got one for christmas or something quite some time ago, digital (which is soooo freeing not having to worry about film and cost and development) but I don’t development my pictures much anymore. funny

Don't be shy!

