I is for Ignatius #AtoZChallenge

confederacyAnyone read A Confederacy of Dunces?  If so, you will never forget Mr. Ignatius J. Reilly. (If you haven’t,  you should think about reading it.) He really is the most interesting character, completely allergic to work and society and he cracks me up! There is a statue of him in New Orleans.

They’ve talked about making a movie, but I just don’t know if it would translate as wonderfully as the book. His character is so completely ridiculous and pompous and misguided that I am not sure who could pull that off and make it funny.  Years ago they mentioned Will Farrell who I think might make it work.  If you were the casting director, who would you hire?

Here is a sampling of his thoughts and comments. Enjoy! 🙂

“Apparently I lack some particular perversion which today’s employer is seeking. ”

“The day before me is fraught with God knows what horrors.”

“Is my paranoia getting completely out of hand, or are you mongoloids really talking about me?”

“You could tell by the way he talked, though, that he had gone to school a long time. That was probably what was wrong with him.”

“I mingle with my peers or no one, and since I have no peers, I mingle with no one.”

“Canned food is a perversion,’ Ignatius said. ‘I suspect that it is ultimately very damaging to the soul.”

“Leaving New Orleans also frightened me considerably.  Outside of the city limits the heart of darkness, the true wasteland begins.”

“It’s not your fate to be well treated,” Ignatius cried.  “You’re an overt masochist.  Nice treatment will confuse and destroy you.”

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I is for Ignatius #AtoZChallenge

  1. Juliet Bond says:

    Very cool! Just stopping by for the A-Z Challenge. Please check us out and sign up to follow if you like what you see. Juliet atCity Muse Country Muse

  2. pooks says:

    One of my biggest frustrations right now is that I can’t find my copy of CoD. Yes, I could buy another, but I love the one I have. I am very afraid I loaned it to somebody and it has disappeared forevah. Hopefully it’s in a box somewhere.

    It’s a small hardcover, an unusual size and shape. Smaller than the typical hardcover book, but thick, so it’s kind of square and boxy. I had no idea when I got it as a remainder for $6 from Amazon years ago that it would be so special to me.

    Yes, I looooove this book.

  3. This was definitely on my to-read list once…dunno how/why I lost track of it…so thanks for the reminder. I see it has over 1,300 reviews on Amazon.

  4. I haven’t heard of it. :/ I’ll have to check it out. He seems over the top and if that’s done well, I’m definitely interested.

  5. cleemckenzie says:

    I love the voice: pompous and misguided are perfect in combination!

  6. Janeal Falor says:

    I haven’t heard of this one before. Don’t know why not though, sounds hilarious!

  7. Nutschell says:

    ive heard of this book. I’ll have to check it out:)
    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  8. jenniferbielman says:

    I have not read this one. Sounds like a great character though. The cover is horrible, lol.

  9. Nick Wilford says:

    He sounds like a hoot! I’ve never heard of this book, but I’m intrigued now.

  10. diannegray says:

    I have a friend who talks exactly like that! LOL. I haven’t heard of this book before, but I’m definitely going to try and get it 😀

  11. debrabetz says:

    I am laughing out loud and I have bust a gut! Thanks for sharing & starting my day off with a smile!

    stopping by from A~Z
    http://www.wearinglemon.blogspot.com

  12. stacybuckeye says:

    This is one of my favorite books! A few years ago I found a clip from someone who had recreated the hotdog cart seen for a class. It was pretty funny. I get annoyed by Ferrell so I hope that doesn’t happen. There really isn’t anyone Ican think of that could pull it off.

Don't be shy!

