J is for Jammin #AtoZChallenge

a-to-z-letters-jI recently started making jams in the last few years, simply because I own fruit trees.  Any fruit tree owner will tell you that their trees produce too much and that everything ripens ALL AT ONCE!  I love plums and loquats and apricots, but I can’t eat 100 pounds in a week.  Nope, just can’t do it.  Major problems to even try!  🙂 So, like any California crazy I have been jamming. My girlfriend taught me how, I use pectin and sugar, I haven’t changed that up YET. But what I love to do is blend. I have plenty of the fruit, so I feel I have little risk even if I don’t end up liking it. So far things have been pretty good, if you jam try it out for yourself.

My favorites so far have been blending fruit with Jalapenos.  MMMM, yes, you can tell I am from California because we will put salsa and jalapenos on just about anything, cilantro too? Yes please.

My first year I made a plain jalapeno jam, it was good but kinda boring.  Now I throw all jalapenos in, seeds and all and mix with a batch of Loquat, Apricot OR I just tried Santa Rosa Plum.  Holy crud they are good.  I haven’t tried Strawberry Jalapeno yet, but I found a recipe so somebody thought it was tasty, this summer I will try it.

If you are ever blessed with jalapeno jam from a handy neighbor, serve it over cream cheese with crackers.  Bliss!  OR serve it on the side with white flaky fish, chicken cutlet, pork cutlet, put it on a cheese plate (great with sharp cheddar or brie) or lately I make a parmesan chicken cutlet (thin cutlet, dip in flour, then egg, then parmesan (large grated pieces), sautee for 2 min per side medium heat) Yummy alone or with the fruity jalapeno jam as a condiment.  You can’t beat it.

I also blend my fruits or add cinnamon or allspice sometimes. Loquat Cinnamon tastes like apple pie filling, Spiced Blueberry Loquat is my favorite (and an awesome addition to a cheese plate – I like cheese ok?), though Plum Loquat or Blackberry Plum are amazing as well. I have a request from a family member to make banana pineapple jam.  I don’t know about that one and I don’t grow either…we will see.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to J is for Jammin #AtoZChallenge

  1. You should try Marula jam – you know the fruit elephants get drunk on (that’s a myth actually) Anyway marula with crumbed, deep fried brie is fantastic. If you like cheese and exotic jam, you’ll love that. Excellent post.

    • ocdreader says:

      YUM! I am going to check out some of the “exotic” stores because I have never seen a marula jam before. But I will pick one up when I do! I am going to NYC next month, I will look there too. 🙂

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    I love hot jalepeno jam. I also had a bountiful crop of quince and loquat last year, so we’re up to our armpits in jars of those jams. Gwynneth’s Marula jam sounds great. We need to swap recipes!

    • ocdreader says:

      Definitely! I still have fruit in the freezer! I cut and cleaned and measured and then froze and I have been working through them, but the new fruit is on the trees and I still have some work to do. And it is starting to get HOT. Dang it.

  3. diannegray says:

    I absolutely love jalapenos! My MIL makes mango chutney by the bucket full (because all our mangos ripen at once). This is something I’m going to have to learn how to do (I might be back for some advice) 😀

  4. jenniferbielman says:

    Yummmm, I love homemade jams, my friend makes some for me. But fruit with jalapenos??? Yuck.

    • ocdreader says:

      I know it sounds weird! I was NOT into it at first, but I thought, what the hell and tried it. Then I tried giving some away and my family didn’t trust me either, I had to serve it at Thanksgiving, now they all ask for more. hahaha

  5. Pete Denton says:

    I’ve never heard of jalapeno jam before. Sounds, intriguing. 🙂

Don't be shy!

