K is for Kingsolver #AtoZChallenge

a-to-z-letters-kOne of my first favorite adult authors was Barbara Kingsolver.  After I read her book The Bean Trees, I was hooked.  Of course this means I read every book she wrote until Prodigal Summer.  I liked that one, but I think she had an agenda which got a little preachy at times.  Parts of it reminded me of how I felt during the last 100 pages of Atlas Shrugged when I was shouting at the book that “I get it already!”  But I hear the books are good and I mean to read them.

By far my favorite is a book of essays, don’t ask me why, I am NOT usually a short story or essay reader, but I LOVED High Tide in Tuscon.  They are lovely, her writing is beautiful, thoughtful and they make me happy. Worth a read! 🙂

On an unrelated note, my “k” key on my keyboard at work isn’t working well.  I keep omitting the k!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to K is for Kingsolver #AtoZChallenge

  1. pooks says:

    My favorite Kingsolver (of the whole TWO I’ve read) is Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. If you like her essays you should love this. I also liked The Poisonwood Bible a lot.

    • ocdreader says:

      I have that one to read, for some reason I just haven’t picked it up yet. Need to hop to it, I have heard nothing but good stuff about it.

      • pooks says:

        Well, since you’ve read her essays, you’ll understand when I say that even if the subject matter doesn’t sound interesting to you, the book is fascinating. Their experiences that year were amazing. I heard it on audiobook with her reading and turned around and bought the book.

  2. I read The Poisonwood Bible decades ago!! Can;t remember much other than it was interesting and I think I liked it 😛 Maybe I should look at her other work.

  3. cleemckenzie says:

    Kingsolver’s one of my favorite authors. I read anything she writes and savor her twisty tales and her beatuiful prose.

  4. You can say that about all of Ayn Rand’s books!

    • ocdreader says:

      Too true! She liked to make sure everyone understood she was talking about real life issues, did you get that, real life issues. 🙂 I loved the stories though (Fountainhead and Atlas), so good!

  5. jenniferbielman says:

    I have not read any of her books but she sounds amazing.

  6. Daniel B. says:

    My favorite Kingsolver is The Poisonwood Bible.

  7. Ruby Young says:

    Hello, my friend… I, too, am a lover of Barbara Kingsolver books. I have read three of them, and discovered them by accident in a used book store in Illinois last year. Best regards to you, Ruby

  8. diannegray says:

    Okay – I haven’t read any of her books, but I’m writing a ‘note to self’ – READ KINGSOLVER 😀

  9. beckyday6 says:

    Agh, I had gotten so behind on your posts! But it was nice to have a catch-up. I’ve never heard of Kingsolver, this is intriguing. 🙂 Does she write in a particular genre?

Don't be shy!

