M is for Mikey #AtoZChallenge

IMG_3337Mikey the bird has been in our family for 20 years or so which means he is probably going to be around another 50 or so. He moved in to my house around 5 years ago now, I was going to watch him for a week while my mom went on vacation. She brought all his food when she dropped him off. I clued in pretty quickly what was happening, but both my husband and I worked from home at the time, these birds are social, he liked us, we liked him and mom needed him to move out.

Of course, there are times where we fight, no relationship is perfect after all. He bit me once or twice and drew blood.  His beak is super strong and his little birdy brain gets flooded with adrenaline sometimes, I watch his eyes now, when they constrict I keep my fingers to myself!

So he isn’t cuddly but he is hilarious. He can’t repeat super long phrases, but he can repeat enough and he has lived with my mom while we were growing up, my sister when she first moved out with her crazy roommates and boyfriends, back with my mom and now with us, he has picked up some interesting phrases.  He associates the right time to say things, generally.  A few of his famous ones –

“Bark, bark, bark, meow, meow, kill the kitty!”  A boyfriend taught a bird to bark, my sister taught him the rest.  Sometimes this turns into “Bark. Meow. Kill” and kill is said in this weird voice so it is killllllllll.  Then he laughs with my laugh (which is the same as my sister’s), because the phrase cracked us up.  Weird bird.

“Tiny bubble” Mom tried to teach him to sing a little Don Ho, but he only can get the singular bubble, and nothing about wine.

“Hey Ron?” said just like I say it when I am yelling at my husband.  Ron will say “what?”  and Mikey will yell in a crazy voice, “Come Here!!!!!”  He never says or does anything when you go to him though.

At night he will tell us “Time to go to bed.” then he will yawn for emphasis.

When the dog is barking he will scold, “No bark” though sometimes he tells him not to
“bike”

He also says “Helloooooooooo nurse!” just like from Animaniacs.

When the phone rings and while I am on the phone he will talk with you “Hello, uh huh, ok uh huh, ok cool. Right, yea, uh huh, wow, cool, wow. Ok, BYE!” Then he adds a beep because the answering machine USED TO BEEP 5 years ago now!  Jeez.  I say wow and cool a lot, obviously.

When he is walking around and starts chewing on something he will say “Get outta there!” He tells on himself essentially.

Mikey is a crack up. He won’t talk when you are looking at him…but as soon as you leave the room, watch out!  I am too lame and can’t figure out how to record him when he is in full swing. I will do that at some random point…some day.  🙂

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to M is for Mikey #AtoZChallenge

  1. Love the sound of him. So cute.

  2. pooks says:

    I LOVE MIKEY. I wrote a book (not yet re-released as an ebook) with a parrot in it, so did a lot of research and I adore them but have never been much of a bird person so can’t imagine owning one. Which reminds me, I need to get on that book. It’s waiting for me to finish the work for getting it out there again. My parrot’s name is Toulouse.

    • ocdreader says:

      That is a great name! My mom named this guy/girl – we still don’t know what he/she is…but we treat him like a boy and he doesn’t seem to mind. 🙂

  3. Nagzilla says:

    Beautiful! I’ve always wanted a bird, but at this point I’m afraid it’s too late because I’m too old, given their life expectancy.

  4. cleemckenzie says:

    My neighbor’s parrot sounds so much like her that when I knock and the parrot says, “Just a minute.” I wait and wait and wait. It takes me a while to catch on she’s not home. Bad parrot! Yours sounds equally as interesting.

  5. Pete Denton says:

    I’m not sure a parrot and our cat would mix well. 🙂 I do like the idea of spending time with a parrot though, I’ve never really been around one. Sounds fun!

  6. Nutschell says:

    i can imagine how much trouble Mikey can get everyone in!

    Nutschell
    http://www.thewritingnut.com

  7. ladysknight says:

    animals can keep us on our toes
    I think it’s amazing they can mimic our voices

    Happy A to Zing

    Lady’s Knight

  8. diannegray says:

    Awww – he’s SO CUTE! Please try to record him at some stage, Elisa. I’d love to hear him talk 😀

  9. lol I love the way he talks while you’re on the phone. Very amusing.

  10. jenniferbielman says:

    OMG, that is so cool. I find talking birds fascinating. I can’t believe he says so much stuff. I love how he is a part of the family. that’s how it should be.

  11. ROFL…thank you for sharing Mikey!!! He’s a jewel 😀

  12. beckyday6 says:

    Ha ha wow that is one awesome bird! I’ve never really considered getting one as a pet or anything because they’re not quite fluffy and cute enough for me, but a bird like this could change my mind. 😉

    • ocdreader says:

      He is a wild man! My friend had one she could play with, I think the thing to do is get them as babies. They end up loving one person the most and let them get away with tons of stuff. Mikey has been through too many of us to be that cool, but he is freaking funny!

Don't be shy!

