O is for Oddball #AtoZChallenge

This is really just a random post about how I LOVE a few supremely oddball lines in movies. I don’t know why, but they freaking crack me up and I for some reason, think of them oftem because they are remembered from every day things.

louis tully“I’m gonna have a shower!” – Louis from Ghostbusters.  I think I love this line because I hear the inflection and watch him walk down the hall only to find his door locked in my head. My husband mentioned taking a shower today and I started laughing.

“Hot, your so hot…” – weird guitar player dude in bizarre half jacket  “I’m sorry, are you warm?” – Principal Mullins from School of Rock – This part cracks me up because she so doesn’t understand he is hitting on her. I think of this line when I hear someone called hot, or before this line they are saying “cool, yes, it’s very cool.” about her being a principal…so the words hot or cool bring me right there.

“Cheekan…Good” growled by Lilu from The Fifth Element. I also like how she calls herself “Lilu Dallas Multipass” when she is asked her name before getting on the flight. Milla Jovovich uses a wacky accent in this movie that just makes most of what she says funny.  The other day I asked my husband “Pleeeez” instead of please, like when she says “Pleeeez halp.”  My brain goes there.

“Time to shut it down.” when Liz Lemmon realizes her too young boyfriend’s mom looks just like her. 30 Rock

How about you? Any lines that crack you up for some crazy oddball reason? Some line you and your significant other say to eachother?  This is a safe place, let us know so we can realize how weird you are too.  LOL

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to O is for Oddball #AtoZChallenge

  1. I’m like you — those two fifth element lines are ones I quote way too much, and I get a lot of weird looks from people, lol.

  2. Andrew and I use lines from the sit-com Cheers all the time. In fact there is a line from Cheers for every eventuality. One springs to mind:
    “I might perspire a bit.” Cliff
    “We could grow rice.” Carla
    There are dozens more. And Lilu is most certainly the Perfect Being.
    But the one I always quote when someone asks for the impossible is from the movie “Money” The character is pretending to be Doctor Spock and is helping a huge, very fat policewoman who has fallen through a wooden boardwalk. He says to himself: “Beam her up, Scotty.” And then he switches to Scotty’s accent and says: “I’m a doctor, not a forklift.” Always cracks me up.

  3. erin c says:

    “Where are those headlight glasses” – peewee herman’s big adventure. I hear that whenever I need to look down and find something. And anytime I hear someone say “i’ll say” I have to finish PeeWee’s line, “I’ll say, I’m going to start a paper route right now”. ha ha
    Oddball

  4. Janeal Falor says:

    Awesome Oddball quotes. I love the shower one. I can here his inflection just thinking about it too, LOL!

  5. cleemckenzie says:

    Of course there’s always that classic, “We don’t got no stinking badges.” This can only be said by a native Spanish speaker with a mustache and a gun.

  6. Love your oddball quotes. I can’t think of any from movies or TV shows offhand, but there’s a line from Mark Haddon’s “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime” where protagonist writes: “So I closed my eyes again and did counting and groaning.” It’s his way of coping with things that upset him or freak him out. I say that a lot to my sister and daughter: “Excuse me for a minute. I’m going to do some counting and groaning.”

  7. Cathy I says:

    How about “shut the f*** up Donny”?

    • ocdreader says:

      ah yes, that is an absolutely good one!
      For some reason I usually think of John Goodman as Big Dan T from O Brother, Where Art Thou and he says “Thank you for that conversational hiatus. Most people try to talk during gustation, but I find it course and vulgar.” right before he beats that sh*t out of them. He gets the best roles!

  8. jenniferbielman says:

    I love everything about The Fifth Element. Cheekan!!!
    My dad is weird cuz he is always saying random movie sayings that almost no one would remember. His new one is “But what’s wrong with the dog?” from Long Kiss Goodnight. That’s the only one I can think of.

  9. Pete Denton says:

    Remember the Airplane movies? I always loved the line “Surely, you can’t be serious.” for the reply “I can and don’t call me Shirley.”

  10. Dayle Lynne says:

    We recite random wacky lines from Doctor Who several times a day around here . . . . “Are you my mummy?” is a favorite (from an episode where creepy people with gas masks keep asking that) – today my daughter had a breathing treatment at the doc and when she was wearing the mask, she looked at me as said, “Are you my mummy?” 😛 )

Don't be shy!

