WWW Wednesdays April 17th

What are you reading this week? Play along with our host MizB from Should Be Reading.

paranormalcyallison hewittThis week I finished Broken Window by Jeffery Deaver – scary and dark but thrilling.  Paranormalcy by Kiersten White which was a cute YA paranormal with a pink obsessed lead who isn’t a vampire or shifter – nice change!  and Allison Hewitt is Trapped by Madeleine Roux, a slightly funny but also horrifying (in how some of the survivors treat each other) zombie novel.

TheManintheBoxCoverI am just a couple of pages into The Man in the Box by Andrew Toy and nearly done with Big Trouble by Dave Barry, which feels quite a bit like a Carl Haissen book, which I love. Lots of ridiculous criminals and a couple of kids who keep bumping into them.

Not sure, but right now I am saying that next up I am reading infinity by Sherrilyn Kenyon, a YA zombie and vampire book.  I haven’t read her adult stuff, but this series looks like fun. Also high up on the TBR is A Duty to the Dead by Charles Todd, which is the beginning of a historical mystery series.

What are you reading this week?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Meme, WWW Wednesdays. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to WWW Wednesdays April 17th

  1. I’m glad you liked Paranormalcy. I’ve been meaning to read it for a long time. 🙂

  2. ChrissiReads says:

    Paranormalcy sounds interesting! I’m currently reading a YA book called Adorkable. It’s cute.

  3. I don’t know the others, but Paranomalcy has been on my list for ages. Must get there some time.
    cheers

  4. Cathy i says:

    I’m reading The Forgotten Garden, loving it. Found it for fifty cents at my favorite Goodwill store!

  5. Kwizgiver says:

    You’ve got some interesting titles. I’ll have to ask my students if they’ve read the YA titles.

  6. jenniferbielman says:

    Broken Window is catching my interest. Hope it’s great.

    • ocdreader says:

      It was really good and freaked me the heck out! I haven’t read all the books in the series, but that was fine. I have a few more on my TBR shelf which I will probably pick up before too long.

  7. Dayle Lynne says:

    Infinity was good 🙂 . . . Have you read any of the Dark-Hunter books? The Chronicles of Nick are a spin-off of that series (though the Dark-Hunter series is definitely not YA!). I’ve been reading the DH books for a couple of years now, and I keep reading them because I’m invested in the characters, but I think the writing in the Chronicles of Nick was much better (probably because I’m not really into the whole romance thing 😛 )!

    • ocdreader says:

      This is my first book by her! I am on the fence about the DH series, the writing in Nick is good, but almost overdone or something? I keep getting upset because I GET IT, he is THAT poor. I don’t know, something is off about it. but I love all the stuff that is happening …totally crazy!

      • Dayle Lynne says:

        Yes! I totally get that . . . and if it irritates you in the Chronicles of Nick, it would really drive you nuts in the DH series. One of the things that irks me the most is that she constantly points out how clever and witty her characters are and I just want to yell, “if they were that witty, you wouldn’t have to keep telling me!” . . . I do a lot of skimming with her books because as much as I don’t dig the romance angles and the excessive explanations, I really enjoy the stories, the characters, and the mythology she’s created. . . . I’m usually very strict about reading books in order, but Acheron (#15) was the first DH book I read. I don’t think I’d have been pulled in as much if it wasn’t for reading that one first!

      • ocdreader says:

        That is why I am reading Nick, the story is super fun – lol – Well, maybe I will look for Archeron and try that one, esp. since he is in Nick!
        🙂

  8. Pete Denton says:

    This A to Z’ing is stopping me reading anything other than great blogs 😉

    I’ll pick up again when we hit May. That and sleep 🙂

Don't be shy!

