P is for Peanut #AtoZChallenge

Mr_peanutI have this friend, this is where you probably think, yea right, a friend. Anyway, I really do have this friend who lives in Pennsylvania  (I have no idea of that is relevant) but she calls ALL NUTS peanuts.  I can’t tell you how much this both bothered me and cracked me up, she would confuse me every time.  We used to do a huge Christmas cookie baking extravaganza every year and when going through the list…you guessed it, I wanted pecans and she always called them peanuts!  (If you are reading this, you know I love you Miss K!)

Xerox, jello, coke, bugs, damn dog, freakin kid – these are names I can understand as universal catch-alls, not peanut! 🙂 My neighbor said her friend calls every soda a ‘coke’ which makes her laugh. I get that if it is actually a dark cola soda, but not a sprite or something. Do you have any word you use like that? Any word your friend or family uses to explain something that drives you crazy?

peacockAlso, just because it fits “P” – driving home on Sunday I saw this guy and had to stop and take a picture with my crappy phone to share with you all. He was strutting!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to P is for Peanut #AtoZChallenge

  1. cleemckenzie says:

    That peanut thing would be confusing for me, too. Loved the peacock. What a beauty.

  2. Your A-Z challenge is by far the wackiest I’ve seen. love the posts.

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    Q-tip is another word most people use for all ear swabs. That’s the only one I can think of.

  4. Wow! How randomly wonderful is that – spotting a peacock like that?! I love when that happens 🙂

  5. Pete Denton says:

    One word used over here a lot is hoovering. I’m sure Hoover must love the fact that the phrase replaced vacuuming, but when using a rival product you’re either vacuuming or Dysoning.

  6. diannegray says:

    I love that peacock – what a strutter he is! I always get in trouble for saying ‘beam’ when I’m talking about wood in the RUC to the builders. I say,’ I need a beam there and they say, ‘no, that’s a post, or that’s a support, or that’s an upper frame’, and on and on it goes. And I just end up saying, ‘I need some wood there!’ LOL 😀

    • ocdreader says:

      LOL – that is funny! I am terrible when I learn new vocabulary for something I don’t do as well. I am a serious menace explaining to the IT support when something breaks on my computer! 🙂

Don't be shy!

