Q is for Quote #AtoZChallenge

a-to-z-letters-qMy book review technique keeps morphing and I have, fairly recently, started adding more book quotes to my reviews (I seem to be obsessed with quotes these days! F & O were  quote posts too, oh well).  In fact, sometimes they look a little bit like an essay I would have written for English class, just the reading genre is a heck of a lot different.  Though to be fair, Mr. Mohney, my AP English teacher said something like “read, I don’t care if you read comic books, but just read”.  Guess what Mr. Mohney! I’ma readin.

So what I am trying to do is tie the quotes into the body of the review to support what I am talking about. I don’t do that with all of them, because sometimes I don’t mark the quotes while I am reading.  I get lazy I guess.  Or I just pick funny quotes to show the snark or fun or whatever.

Personally, when I read reviews I sometimes skim over them. I think it depends on where they are included, if the review was compelling or not, if the quotes tie in with what is being discussed and how interested I am in the book itself.  What about you, if you read book reviews, do you think quotes are an important part of the review? Or do you normally gloss right over them?  Do tell 🙂

And because Quotes are fun, I just wanted to let you know that my buddy Becky from Blogs of a Bookaholic has started a relatively new meme called Quoting the Quill.  You should check it out. I think once the AtoZ challenge is over I am going to join her in talking about my favorite quotes each week.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Q is for Quote #AtoZChallenge

  1. I love Quotes but have a lousy memory so I never remember them offhand like so many people seem to! There was a time when I collected them. Now I include quotes at the end of my reviews because I like them and because I think they can shed light on what the book is about if chosen well.
    That meme sounds interesting. I’ll be checking it out. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. beckyday6 says:

    I am exactly the same as you, if I have enjoyed the review and I am seriously considering reading the book then I look at the quotes, otherwise I tend to pass them by. I have also noticed that I’m using them more and more on my blog posts, but with my meme it’s now become a bit of a dilemma, as in, should I save them for the meme or put them on the review, lol.

    Thanks for the mention! I’m glad to hear you’ve been enjoying my quotes. 😀 I’m really having fun with the meme.

    Bring on the quotes!

  3. cleemckenzie says:

    Sometimes the quotes tip the scale for me. If the writing is interesting I’m more likely to invest in the book, if not, then I don’t care how great the review is.

  4. I usually skim them. That’s me being honest 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      Sometimes they are weird out of context! It is hard while you are reading a book to pull a quote that will mean something to someone who hasn’t read the book!

  5. Nana Prah says:

    That’s cool to add quotes, especially if they add to the review.

    • ocdreader says:

      That is the dilemma lately, am I adding too many, do they make sense to someone who hasn’t read the book etc. Well done they are a great addition. I guess I need to work on my context! 🙂

  6. Pete Denton says:

    When I write a book review I never include quotes. Judging by some of your comments I’m sure if I add them it could tip the balance or be completely ignored!

  7. Stopping by from the #atozchallenge !
    @JLenniDorner

    I love when reviews include a good quote.

  8. I like quotes in a review. I do them myself but I don’t weave them through the review. I have them at the end. I just can’t be on the look out for quotes that fit with a review I have not written yet. That takes too much time for me. I like just marking a couple and using them at the end without too much thought.

  9. diannegray says:

    I keep a pen and paper beside me when I read so I can take quotes from books because I love them! When I read a review I always look at the quotes first because it gives me an insight into how people write and what has stuck in the readers head. I’m really looking forward to your ‘quote’ blogs now 😀

Don't be shy!

