T is for Teaser #AtoZChallenge

Do you read teaser excerpts from favorite authors before their book is released?  I sometimes will check out Ilona Andrews blog, they have some fun teasers sometimes.  But mainly I don’t want to read them because while it may create excitement and they can be super fun…I really just want to read the whole book already.  Though it is fun to visit with some of my favorite characters every once in a while.

How do you feel about teasers?  Do you enjoy them and eat them like candy? Or do you hold off and wait for the published book?  IF you don’t read them because you don’t follow author blogs, how do you feel about teasers philosophically?  Personally I think they are a good idea because a new reader can get a feel for the writing and characters before making an investment.  They are also nice to chum the water of your fan base before your new book is released.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to T is for Teaser #AtoZChallenge

  1. Chum the water? A beautiful description of what it feels like to send a new book out. It can be like swimming in shark-infested waters!

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    I rather like teasers. I can get a sense of the writing style and that’s really important to me.

  3. Carol says:

    I’ll read teasers, but don’t go out of my way to find them.

  4. diannegray says:

    I like teasers. I’ve read some and thought ‘no way I’d read that book!’ or ‘yep – I want that book!’ 😀

  5. I go back and forth. Sometimes I read a lot of excerpts and sometimes I stay far away from them. Depends on my mood and book.

  6. Cathy i says:

    When I have finished a wonderful book that ended too quickly I will go to the teaser at the back so I can continue the “feeling”, but usually I skip them because I too want to read the whole thing.

  7. beckyday6 says:

    I tend to wait, otherwise I get impatient, LOL.

Don't be shy!

