W is for Were #AtoZChallenge

I LOVE Young Frankenstein!  Anyway, besides Teen Wolf, that was my first introduction to the werewolf.

But what I think is super fun these days is that it doesn’t stop with wolves, you can find books about all sorts of weres – dragons, panthers, kitty cats, lions, bears etc. That idea of non-wolf were’s first walloped me across the head when I read Sunshine by Robin McKinley.  You don’t really follow any were characters because it is more of a strange vampire tale, but they even talk about the possibility of a were-chicken!  That made me laugh because how does a chicken bite infect someone and not only that but you have this crazy super power of changing shape and what does it really get you – a guest shot on Family Guy!?  Anyway, I always imagine a “were” to be a predator.  If you could be any type of were, what would it be?  I think I would want to be a mountain lion or a hawk.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to W is for Were #AtoZChallenge

  1. I’d be a were sloth. No-one would ever suspect that the lazy creature in the corner is a member of the undead, and I’d be able to carry out my deeds on my own long-term schedule.

  2. I’d be a dog in my my house. Time to get spoilt.

  3. cleemckenzie says:

    Maybe something furry and cuddly, then the element of surprise would be heightened.
    Nice kitty.
    Nice kitty.
    “Chomp!”

  4. Nick Wilford says:

    Maybe a were-flea – jump great heights, good at biting, and you can go almost undetected.

  5. Not so keen on Were-animals, but love yesterday’s story about the gas company finding leaks! Can’t be too windy there, it would never work here in Ireland even if we had vultures, as all the methane would be whipped away by the wind.

  6. diannegray says:

    How about a ‘were-writer’, now that would be a dangerous creature! 😉

  7. I’d be a were-crow. hehe. Weird, right? I love crows.

  8. beckyday6 says:

    I’ve never heard of Young Frankenstein before!

    • ocdreader says:

      OH you have to watch it if you ever get a chance…preferably with someone who has NOT seen it 100 times before…I swear I could recite the movie line for line. Drive people crazy…

      • beckyday6 says:

        Hahaa awhhh I love that, you can always do that with all the best movies from your childhood and there’s something so comforting about it.

      • ocdreader says:

        I know, I usually say, oh kids like to watch things a million times because there is comfort in knowing what will happen next…I still do that so I guess it isn’t just kids 🙂

Don't be shy!

