X is for Xanadu #AtoZChallenge

215px-XanadufilmWhen I was a little girl, I loved this movie. I don’t think I saw it very often, but I loved the idea of it, loved Olivia Newton-John and rollerskating.  I still love the idea of it, one of the muses come to life to help out a struggling artist who she happens to fall for rather quickly, even though she had helped Gene Kelly out in the 20s and didn’t fall for his schtick…but faced with Sonny Malone, whoo boy, she is a goner.  Anyway, in a fit of nostalgia I tried watching it again….it sadly did not stand up to my fond memories.  I also tried to watch Bugsy Malone (that Scott Baio movie with Jody Foster where all the kids are like gangsters) with a girlfriend who hadn’t seen it before cause it is available on youtube.  She made me turn it off and I have to admit, it was pretty bad.

One that just surprised me was Grease. As a kid I watched it at my friends house all the time because they had it on tape or something.  Come to find out her mom edited the “bad parts” out of it – how I don’t know because I watched it a few years ago and was shocked at all the sexual innuendos and language.  I was obviously crazy sheltered and stupid because I never did understand what his 50 cent insurance policy meant.  And greased lightening, that whole song?!  Wow, all over my head.

What about you?  Any childhood memories that failed the test of time miserably or shocked the heck out of you by standing strong, funny or were totally different then you had thought?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to X is for Xanadu #AtoZChallenge

  1. Sisyphus47 says:

    So few interesting possibilities in the X range! Was not aware of the film! 😉

  2. David Bowie’s performance – and codpiece – in Labyrinth is far more sinister and unsettling in 2013 than it was in the 1980s.

    • ocdreader says:

      That is AWESOME! That movie is hilarity and truly scary. Did you ever watch Flight of the Concords? There is one where Jemaine dresses as Bowie – So funny.

    • beckyday6 says:

      I loved Labyrinth and remember thinking that David Bowie was awesome in it! I haven’t watched it in years though and it is quite possible if I revisit it I may find him creepy…

      Very original choice for X by the way, E!

  3. John Wiswell says:

    I avidly avoid re-watching things I loved as a kid to prevent destroying memories. I imagine most things won’t hold up since they were meant for simpler minds, and beloved by one.Transformers certainly doesn’t have the magic it did at age 8!

    John at The Bathroom Monologues

    • ocdreader says:

      smart man! But sometimes I just can’t help myself and sometimes they really do hold up, or maybe it is just I have had enough drinks to bring me to “simpler minds” territory 🙂

  4. diannegray says:

    I watched Xanadu and liked it many moons ago (but I don’t think I’d watch it again). I remember thinking Howard the Duck was funny until I saw it again a few years ago! 😯

  5. Books stand the test of time better than movies I find! Or is that just me?

  6. jenniferbielman says:

    Now you have them wondering. What did the song Grease Lightning mean? Isn’t it about his fast car?

  7. Dayle Lynne says:

    The first time I watched Grease was on New Year’s when I was about 8 or 9 years old. It was the Million Dollar Movie on at like 2am. (I couldn’t sleep and I had a TV in my room.) By the time I was 10 or 11, it was a favorite of mine and my cousins. The “bad” parts weren’t cut out either, I just didn’t get most of them! Still, I watch it now and I’m shocked that my mom let me watch it. . . . Then again, I think that about a lot of things that I would never let my daughter watch/do . . . but I guess I turned out okay 😛

Don't be shy!

