Frivolous Friday – May 3rd

Hi everyone and Happy Friday!  This is more a random rambling post…you have been warned.

I don’t have much to chat about today since my brain is still a little fried from April, but I guess I just wanted to mention the Camarillo Springs fire that is raging out of control about 30 miles from where I work.  My heart goes out for the people that are being affected and the animals that are being killed and displaced.  I started thinking about them this morning and could barely stop the tears!  What the heck?!  Anyway, it is part of the circle of life around here in Southern California but it still sucks because there is no where else for animals to go when the entire area of wild land has been burned to the ground.  Then they end up “pests” to the homeowners if they happen to survive the initial turmoil.  Is it bizarre I am more upset for the wild animals than the people right now?

I think either I have a little trauma from my time in NY during 9/11 or I am just hormonal (isn’t it nice us ladies have an excuse for being upset about tragic things without simply admitting to being a softie?) because watching the billowing smoke cloud is really messing with my head.

So, because I read so many fantasy books (that is my excuse, sticking with it) I wish I could help by controlling an element (fire would be handy), talk to animals (you know like Aquaman but with mammals “run this way”) or superhuman strength could probably be put to work by the firemen.

I am a little nervous about this summer. Our winter was super lame (meaning dry) and the plants have bloomed already and are beginning to conserve so they are killing off their extremities (plants are so cool) to try to survive the scorcher ahead.  The Santa Ana wind’s don’t help either (they dry everything up and whip everything into a frenzy). I just spoke with a co-worker in Nebraska, they just got snow yesterday.  It really is amazing how different a time zone can make things!  (awful lot of parentheses in this post today!)

Anything happening in your neck of the woods?

PS – I survived my mud run and finished the whole bloody thing – woop! I enjoyed the mud obstacles and rocked the ropes and cargo net etc, it was the billion hills that killed me. The local police have a training ground in the foothills, so that is where they held it. I felt like a rookie in basic training being made to run in figure eights up and down deer tracks.  Sadists!!  It was fun and I will probably do another one (so what does that make me!?).  Anyone want to join me?

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Frivolous Friday – May 3rd

  1. cleemckenzie says:

    We’re in the same locale almost. I’m very worried about the hot, dry year as we live in a forest that has a tendency to burn down once in a while. Here’s to getting through unscathed both north and south,

  2. Georgie Lee says:

    I used to live in the San Fernando Valley and I was there for the two big fires in 2003 and 2005. There was so much smoke, we couldn’t even see across the valley. Hopefully, the fires won’t be so bad this year.

    • ocdreader says:

      Ugh! The smoke just sits over that valley, that is nuts you couldn’t see across! On my way to work I noticed the smoke from the fire is covering the Channel Islands and going out to sea, probably because of the Santa Ana’s, so not too much smoke issue here until the wind shifts.

  3. Um, here in the UK it’s just started getting warm. I’ve been sitting in cushy office, occasionally turning my desk fan on. Sometimes I turn it on just because I can – I’m a big believer in conspicuous consumption.

    I nearly trod in some dog muck at lunchtime, so maybe I should I chill out.

  4. Nick Wilford says:

    Sorry to hear about that terrible fire. I hope it can be brought under control soon.

    I keep seeing adverts for mud runs on Facebook. Sounds like quite a workout!

  5. Sorry about your fires. I hate it too when our mountains burn, as they do every few years. Didn’t get to post my FF because my internet was down 😦 Will catch up next week. Loved this post.

  6. beckyday6 says:

    Ohh no, I had no idea this was happening. 😦 I’m with Michael, it’s only just started getting warm here, I keep mixing between the electric heater and the cool fan, the weather is so changable at the moment!

    On a random note, I just finished writing a short story about a girl who can control/affect fire, what a coincidence.

    The mud run sounds super fun!!

    • ocdreader says:

      OMG, we are totally connected by random coincidence! 🙂 Enjoy your wacky weather. We are getting clouds and hopefully rain tonight so all of our pesky fires should hopefully be done for a while!

  7. So happy to hear you finished your mud run. 🙂

    The fires are really freaking me out too. I live in Riverside county so it hits close to home.

  8. Sara says:

    Oh yeah, SoCal fires bring back scary childhood memories!
    Mud Run? That sound like too much fun!!

Don't be shy!

