Review – The Man in the Box

TheManintheBoxCoverThe Man in the Box

by Andrew Toy  – Tomorrow Comes Media Tour Review

Robbie is laid off, jumps into a box to hide himself when he does something sneaky and is transported to another world.  Did he create this world when he was a kid and can he fulfill the prophecy that will save the land…or is he just going through a psychotic break?

Honestly, both options are quite viable for a long time, and that is brilliant. I really enjoyed the story here, it hit home for me because I am the queen of escapist fantasies.  Hiking, biking, sitting, looking, reading, even working – I am rarely where my body happens to be.  So Toy’s theme kind of made me feel guilty, actually.  Is my real life suffering from my coping mechanism for life?  Anyway.  Toy takes it a step further, Robbie has to be in a special box to disappear in his fantasy world and the real world suffers for his obsession.  But then, so does the fantasy world.  Kind of like gods need people to believe in them to have any power (thanks Neil Gaiman), fantasy worlds need their creators to continue visiting to keep things moving along smoothly.  What happens to them as kids grow up?  They continue on and things change.  It also reminded me a little of Hook, “remember Peter, remember”.  Can you just see those kids begging him to play?  🙂

So this is a choice between worlds book. Lots of stuff goes down.  Neither world is perfect but how do you choose when one makes you feel more needed and important?  Should you have to choose?

Robbie’s fantasy world is sort of a warped boys fantasy. Things are very dangerous, people die and the world needs him. He is important.  In his real life his kids ignore him, his job rejects him, he doesn’t get along with his father and things are difficult.  The adventure is awesome. The issues they face are tense and Robbie’s difficulty dealing with his family is sad.  I also was impressed with how Toy ended the story, forcing the choice between worlds.

I did have some issues with the book, there were some odd word choices that should have been swapped out, they were close but off.  Also a few story elements were dropped in there in odd ways or characters switched gears quickly making it jarring for me.  It just felt like it could use a good scrubbing.  But, I just rolled with the story, which really didn’t slow down too much once it got going and went completely out of control when it neared the end.  It was violent, people died and things were shocking.

All in all a very entertaining read, I hope they scrub it up a bit more because it could be really awesome.  3.5 glowing star-shaped books, open them you and notice that your life story is written on the pages as you live it.

AndrewToyAbout Andrew Toy:

Andrew Toy lives with his wife and dachshunds in Louisville, KY. He is currently editing books of nearly every genre and is a writing coach for aspiring authors. He and his wife are trying to adopt their first child, and he is using the means of writing and editing to accomplish the goal of enlarging his family. Check out some more of his writing and upcoming books on his popular blog: adoptingjames.wordpress.com

Andrew Toy Links:

Twitter

Facebook

Andrew’s Blog

 

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fantasy, Paranormal, Review, Tomorrow Comes Book Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review – The Man in the Box

  1. I love the sound of this book. Any writer anywhere will tell you that this is exactly how we live our lives – in a parallel world only coming back to ‘reality’ to make sure no one burned the house down in our absence. It sounds like one to watch for. Is it a eBook or will there be a paper version too?

  2. OCDReader, thank you so much for reviewing my book! I’m glad you liked it! I’m shooting for a second edition to get things cleaned up and smooth some sentences out (maybe even add a spine-tingling scene here and there). I’m very grateful you took the time to read and review. Thank you.

    • ocdreader says:

      It was quite a thrill ride, I can’t imagine packing more thrill and chills in there! 🙂
      Thanks so much for the opportunity to read it. Hope you have a wonderful tour

  3. diannegray says:

    I love the idea of the box (I’ve felt like hiding in one occasionally!) I see Andrew is going for a second edition, I’ll check it out when he’s done 😀

  4. jenniferbielman says:

    I like shocking and escapism. I love the idea of going to a fantasy land type of deal. My head is there 24/7. 🙂 Happy you enjoyed it for the most part.

  5. beckyday6 says:

    This sounds like great fun! I love it when authors don’t show all their cards at once, the fact that you have to wait a good amount of the book to hear whether the world is real or not is awesome. 🙂

    Great review!

Don't be shy!

