Review – Dragonswood

dragonswoodDragonswood

by Janet Lee Carey

A coming of age and love story rolled into one filled with dragons and fey and the politics and the dirty dealings that seem to happen when both need to rely on short-lived humans.  There isn’t anything new to this story, and you know where it is ultimately going to go, but it really is a treat getting there.

The writing and descriptions are beautiful “The stars appeared like snowflakes caught and never falling, held my God’s hand, I supposed, or suspended by his breath.” (pg 174)

Triss is a strong character who really takes responsibility for her actions, even though she literally ran away one too many times when she heard crazy news, she is quite enjoyable to follow first person.  The characters are well-fleshed and you understand (or eventually understand) the actions and the reasoning behind them.

There are some rough story lines.  Triss is accused of witchcraft and nearly killed through the water test, there is torture and a girl is almost burned at the stake.  It is a rough life, where Triss and her mother are beaten by her father and Triss is nervous around men because of it.  No scenes in the moment (of being beaten by her dad), but plenty of reflection.  We are in Triss’ head a lot, with her suppositions and thoughts because she is pretty closed-mouthed about many things, and for good reason.  She is a pawn, but will she allow herself to be treated as one is the question.

It was enjoyable and I liked it, but it doesn’t emotionally grab me like some other books.  Because of that I would say it is a titch under 4 stars because it was “fun” and nearly “really fun” so 3.5+ stars flickering around the dragon bone campfire.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Review – Dragonswood

  1. this has been on y wishlist for a while now. Love the cover. Glad to hear I’m not really missing too much. 🙂 My move to the UK happens at the beginning of August. We need to be there for start of school in September. You northern hemisphere lot are so weird – us southerners start our academic year in January and finish in December. I’m both excited and scared!

  2. Janeal Falor says:

    The cover of this one is so gorgeous. I also knew where the story was going, but was a treat getting there. Always enjoy well developed/strong characters.

  3. diannegray says:

    I just love that cover and the quote is beautiful (I’m a metaphor freak) .

  4. jenniferbielman says:

    eeek, torture. I think I can handle it. This one sounds pretty good. Love the cover too.

  5. beckyday6 says:

    Oooh I love the quote, really imaginative!

Don't be shy!

