Review – Infinity

infinityInfinity (Chronicles of Nick, Bk 1)

by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Nick is 14. He is poor, his clothes are crappy and his mom, with her heart of gold (who had him at 14) doesn’t understand that her goodwill clothing choices get him beat up. She is so young and so clueless, it is weird.  Anyway, they live in New Orleans, there are a lot of non-humans in this part of town.  Nick is a something or other that will eventually go down the path of evil and destroy all of humanity. But right now he is a really good kid with anger management issues, because all the kids at his rich kids school make fun of him for being poor with weird clothes.  It felt a little like paranormal Pretty in Pink for a bit.

But the story goes quickly, probably because the font is huge, so I continued to read and suddenly the football team are turning into zombies! Yay! Zombies. (I have a weird fascination with zombies lately)  Oh by the way, this is a spin-off of a paranormal romance series that I haven’t read before because there are a billion of the books in the series but people seem to love them.  Maybe someday.

Anyway, there are a ton of paranormals, all types and they all seem to have an agenda which was either for or against what Nick has the potential to become. Honestly it was a little confusing, but it was fun so I just kept reading.

The story is great.  It captured my attention and I will be looking for the next book to keep up with the trials and tribulations of Nick.  However, I think this book expected the reader already knew all these characters that were introduced.  Some folks seemed to have a cameo just to trot them out and say, “See, here is one of your favorite characters back when Nick was a kid.”  I guess I would have enjoyed it more if I had more background and knew who they all were.  So I really recommend this to fans of the series.  For paranormal YA readers, it is enjoyable.  A bunch of crazy stuff happens and it keeps you interested.  But, too many names, too many hidden agendas, a bit of future affecting the past, almost too much is tackled.  Plus, things are overtold a bit.  His backpack is battered, dirty AND second-hand.  His mom picks out neon orange Hawaiian shirts and thinks he looks classy.  His breakfast is powdered eggs and bacon which he continually chokes down.  “he shoved the grainy powdered eggs into his mouth and swallowed them. He forced himself not to shiver at the taste. But it was all they could afford.” (pg 12) I don’t know, we are shown a bit, told a lot and I suddenly don’t care they are poor because we are told about it too much “chipped blue plate next to the rusted out stove”.  Anyway.  I am only hypercritical because she has sold tons of books.  Wouldn’t the editor pull some of that stuff back?! Lazy.

Anyway, it is a nutty plot, the good vs evil folks are doing their good and evil deeds and there is a big “How will this guy ultimately turn out?” question hanging over this series.  He seems like a good kid, Neil Gaiman in Good Omens had the antichrist raised by normal folks by mistake and he turned out ok.  Just because the potential is there, doesn’t mean they have to go down the evil road, but good intentions make good pavers when you are out of cobblestones or something.

So, you won’t write a literary discourse on this one, but it is cute. Nick has a crush, he won’t take charity and he only freaks out a little when he finds out about the paranormal community surrounding him.  3.5 stars, one is a zombie, one a demon that eats zombies, one a werewolf and the other half is a dark hunter but I can’t tell you what he does yet, you gotta read the next book.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Infinity

  1. Enjoyed the review so much that I don’t think I need bother with the book!

  2. Cathy i says:

    Yeah, don’t think I have to read it either, it was like you were with me in the room!

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    I’m happy you enjoyed it overall. I have the book but haven’t gotten to it yet. It’s interesting to see what you thought without reading the Dark Hunter series. OMG, Nick goes thorough so much in that series.

  4. Dayle Lynne says:

    “a paranormal Pretty in Pink” . . . I never thought of it that way, but it’s oddly accurate!

    You’re spot on with this review! I’ve read the Dark-Hunter books, so all those cameos were really cool for me, but I kept thinking it would be odd for those who didn’t read that series . . . . not to mention that that series is *really* not for kids!

Don't be shy!

