Frivolous Fridays – May 17th

Happy Friday everyone!  I just got back from NY city and am super happy I was able to spend some time in one of my favorite bookstores – the Strand!  They say they have like 11 or 12 miles of books and it is packed with people and even new books are half off if they are older.  It was tough, and I must admit I was walking (I had forgotten how much of a hike it is from Canal Street to 14th!) and couldn’t carry too much, but I somehow limited my purchase to one book (the book after Patient Zero – so excited!)

I managed to get a picture inside the store without people in it.  Honestly I don’t know how that happened because the place was hopping, you know, the type of busy where every time I would stop I was in someone’s way?  Also, I had to climb a ladder to get my book and because I am greedy I originally grabbed the third in the series as well, I denied myself, returned it and stepped on a girl on the way back down.  I was smooth!

IMG_8347IMG_8345

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Frivolous Fridays. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Frivolous Fridays – May 17th

  1. Looks bonkers.

    In fact, it reminds me of the opening scene in Ghostbusters where they upset that ghost reading a book in the library.

  2. erin c says:

    fun!

  3. Layla says:

    I love bookstores like that. There’s one in DC’s Eastern Market district, called Capitol Books, I believe. If you’re ever in that area, you should check it out. It’s packed with books!

  4. Cathy I says:

    So much fun, one of my favorite things to do in a new city is to find the used bookstores. Even spent a day in Las Vegas checking them out, so much more exciting than gambling!

  5. beckyday6 says:

    Love it. That is actually my biggest regret, when I went to NCY I was like 20 steps away from The Strand but didn’t go in it for various reasons. 😦 Hopefully I can return and go there one day!

    • ocdreader says:

      bummer! It is a fun one, well organized and I found way too many things I wanted but just couldn’t carry! 🙂 The other great store is Powell’s in Portland, OR. You can get lost in there!

  6. jenniferbielman says:

    Oh wow, sounds like a great book store. How could you just buy one book? That’s craziness!!! 🙂

    • ocdreader says:

      It was tough, let me tell you! But I was getting tired and didn’t want to have to carry more books on the rest of my walk. I brought too many with me on my trip to begin with and trying to fit more in the bag was nearly impossible! I need to remember that next time I am packing 🙂

  7. diannegray says:

    LOL! You are very smooth indeed! 😉

  8. You stepped on a girl??? haha AWESOME! I totally want to go there… too bad New York is a 5 hour car drive from where I am! LOL

Don't be shy!

