Review – Glimmerglass

glimmerglassGlimmerglass (Faeriewalker 1)

by Jenna Black

A YA novel about find out about your heritage and self, dealing with an alcoholic parent, and a little bit of romance or major crushing really.  Cute but with dark undercurrents.

So Dana has an alcoholic mother and doesn’t know her Fae father.  They move all the time to keep her away from him but her mom has some major problems and embarrasses the heck out of this half-fae 16 year old.  She decides to run away to Avalon to look him up and have a “normal” life with a hopefully loving father.  *uh huh*  Anyway, nothing is normal from here on out.  She has a rare ability (basically because fae and humans generally don’t breed) but she can see the glimmerglass which means she can go to faery or the human world and can bring another person either place, basically bringing magic to earth or technology to faery.  So of course, she is a powerful tool for the politicians in Avalon so everyone tries to win her over by friendliness or force.

There is a hint of a love triangle, not that anything sexy happens, a lot of looking and some kissing.  The POV is first person following Dana about, thank goodness because her inner voice gives us a little more information about her thought processes because she flip flops around a bit.  As for story, not too much really happens, she doesn’t know who to trust and people mess with her and eventually try to kill her.  For a girl who had to take care of her mother, she is quite young, eager and naive, but she means well.

I enjoyed the book, Avalon has a lot of politics, we don’t learn too much about them, but maybe someday Dana will take a big part in things or actually go into Faerie.  I am willing to try another book or two to see where Black takes this series.  3.5 stars of perfect notes, floating into the ether, eliciting their own musical magic.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Glimmerglass

  1. Man, I love the cover! That alone is enough to get me interested. The title is cool too. A wishlist book. Thanks

  2. That cover is freakin’s awesome. Happy it was mostly good. I really like Fae books.

  3. I’ve seen this around a few times but haven’t picked it up. I generally don’t read much Fae fiction, but if I come across this again I may have to take another look!

Don't be shy!

