Review – Incarnate – Tomorrow Comes Media Tour

Incarnate CoverIncarnate

by Lawrence Weill (Blackwyrm Publishing)

Tomorrow Comes Media

This book is about a woman who believes, because the voices and her cards have told her, that her 7 year old son is the second coming of Christ.  She runs away from her husband with two her boys Dale and Louis who is five, to show the world his powers when things go awry.  And then more awry.

This book was really tough to read for me.  It was freaking depressing because she is mentally unstable, and her kid is a good boy just trying to do what is mom is asking of him.  Plus she loses her temper with her younger son, and smacks him around, because she is angry.  BUT, it is really well written and while I needed to put it down to come down from my emotional tizzy, I picked the book back up to find out what happened.

The setting is during the pre-digital age so it was easier to stay off the grid and leave a town when things got too “hot”.  So the father has a tough time and realizes he might not ever find his kids again. I think it must have taken place during the 70s or something.

The POV switches between the characters, so you get the mother’s inner dialogue as well as the kids and their father who is trying to locate them.  Then things sort of take off and events are difficult.  😦  I got too invested and it brought my already blah mood down further.  This book makes you think about mental sickness, parental expectations, the fatal flaw of pride, religion and parenting  and how it has changed over the years, just to name a few.  4 stars, flying off a funeral pyre, up to the cold, crisp and clear starry night.

Available from amazon.com

Author Bio:
Lawrence Weill is an author and artist in western Kentucky. In addition to novels, he writes short fiction, nonfiction articles and books, and poetry. His work has appeared in a wide range of local, regional, and national journals. He and his wife live in the woods  overlooking a beaver pond.
Please visit his website: http://www.lawrenceweill.com

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Review, Tomorrow Comes Book Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review – Incarnate – Tomorrow Comes Media Tour

  1. Thank you for the reading!

  2. diannegray says:

    It is supposed to be based on a true story – or totally fiction? It sounds pretty depressing 😦

  3. Layla says:

    I downloaded a sample and read it, but I wasn’t really into the narrative style…. It’s a very interesting concept though, and you do feel for the poor boys from the very first page.

  4. jenniferbielman says:

    oh jeeze, this would be hard for me to read. So emotional. And the concept, wow. Happy you ended up enjoying it though.

Don't be shy!

