Review – Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

dash lilyDash & Lily’s Book of Dares

by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

New York during Christmas. Two 16 year olds getting to know each other through a red moleskin notebook.  So adorable. Of course, I have never known anyone in my life who uses so many 50 cent words, but it was great. I really enjoyed it.

But it is a pretty cute boy meets girl in a strange and fascinating way.  I haven’t read Nick & Nora, but saw the movie and you can tell it is written by the same authors, a couple of phrases are the same, but I LOVED that movie, so that was good for me!  🙂

Dash is the broody, snarly looking boy who prefers hanging around books than people. When he gets Lily’s dares, they force him to go places he would NEVER go.

“If I hadn’t appreciated her sadism, I would’ve headed straight for the hills.” (pg 33)

Lily is cute, funny and not broody at all.  Dash sends her to the movies alone and she thinks about her favorite times at the movies are surrounded by family.

“The best is when we all go at once, like an army of interrelated popcorn zombies who laugh the same laughs and gasp the same gasps and aren’t so germ-phobic with each other that we won’t share a ginormous Coke with one straw.”

But even though they sort of seem like opposites, as you get to know them, and they get to know each other, it is so heartfelt and adorable – even though they are cynical teens. Love it!  The book talks about how the notebook allows them to get to know each other, but does it let them know the “real” people, or the “in your head perfect” other person? You know, the reason our book boyfriends are always perfect, in our heads they always will be!

It is a young adult chick-lit type book I guess, which is super readable, lots of fun and throws in a million large words by precocious, bookish teens.  I recommend for when you want something easy and enjoyable with a hidden warmth, some Christmas “cheer” and to remember young love.  It was just what I needed, so I give it 4 stars, floating in a mug of peppermint schnapps enhanced hot chocolate.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Review – Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares

  1. Hey! So good to be back and read your reviews again 🙂 just getting back to reading – reading And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini.

  2. diannegray says:

    Great review – just one question (here’s where I get to sound really dumb) – what are “50 cent words”?

    • questions are always good. I guess it is a US thing, we call complex words 50-cent words, there is a saying for something, probably dealing with kids, Never use a 50-cent word when a 5 cent word will do. Probably contributs to the dumbing down of our society or something…
      At least personally, I use more complex words in my writing than my speech, the character Dash tended to use larger, complex words always.

  3. Awww, this sounds cute. LOL, I haven’t heard someone say 50-cent words in a long time.

  4. beckyday6 says:

    I have seen this book so many times on Amazon, Goodreads etc and love the from cover but I have been so undecided as to whether I should pick it up or not. I too really enjoyed the Infinite Playlist movie but haven’t read the book either.

    P.S. Love how to matched going to New York with reading a book based in New York!

    P.P.S. I’d never heard off 50-cent words either! I thought you were talking about slang that the rapper 50 cent might use, LOL! Country barrier. 😛

  5. Gwynn White says:

    Just finished reading this and yes . . . I agree with every word of your review. Loved it too.

Don't be shy!

