Review – Deadline

deadlineDeadline (Newsflesh #2)

by Mira Grant, Orbit Books, June 2011

Holy crap! The conspiracy isn’t dead and there is more news to hunt down!

This was a great second book in a trilogy. I will admit it did take me a little while to get involved in it, even though the action starts right away.  There is a change in narrator from book 1, and some events from the last book still had me reeling.  But it was completely solid, less a zombie book and more a political thriller with zombies as part of the backdrop.  But things aren’t done yet and there is way more news to uncover so I really am happy I have Blackout on my shelf waiting patiently.

“I’m pretty sure that if the zombies were going to destroy humanity, they would’ve done it back in 2014, when they first showed up. I think that if anything destroys the human race at this point, it’s going to be the human race itself.” (pg 172)

I think that is a pretty solid quote to describe this book and series.  What will bring the human race down in this world?  Is the conspiracy that big and how can this trilogy end for these characters I now know and love?!

While the story is awesome and the world-building completely solid, what makes me love this sundae of a story is the whipped cream and cherry topping of the characters.  Grant clinches it for me when she gives us a girl who makes comments like this:

“Octopuses are cute, in their own ‘nature did a lot of drugs’ sort of way.”

Or giving me a lead male who is having major problems, yet still having to survive and run the news gang despite talking to people who aren’t there.  There is humor lacing the horror.  I do much better when people turn to humor to survive.

“I think I just had a minor psychotic episode or maybe a breakdown or something, but it’s cool; I’m feeling basically okay now,” I replied, closing the van doors. “You?” (pg 220)

But ultimately, these people are doing what they think is right.  Fighting instead of hiding in their homes, taking chances to report the truth and possibly not making it out alive.  It is the good fight against some major powers and it is quite frightening.

This is a wonderful trilogy (at least as far as book 1 & 2), it is mostly grounded in scientific possibilities and it makes it feel like it could happen.  Though there is one thing about book 2 that hints at an impossibility made possible.  We will see how Grant handles that in Blackout.  I give it 4.5 stars that rotate between green and red when you touch them, checking to see if you are going to amplify into a zombie.  Last time I checked they turned green meaning I will live to write another day!

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Thriller, Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review – Deadline

  1. Cathy i says:

    I’m reading the third book now. You are right. Although they are thrillers, action packed and addicting, I have had a hard time with the start of each book, getting “hooked in”.

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    I’m just not into zombie books, but you’ve enticed me with this one being more of a political thriller and those wonderful excerpts.

    • ocdreader says:

      I think calling it a political thriller is probably incorrect…more like thriller with politics and twists and turns and some zombies. Conspiracy thriller?
      Plus the humor, they feel like real people!

  3. As you know me and zombies don’t gel, but this does sound good. Glad you loved it.

  4. It does sound like a great trilogy so far. But with it being more political thriller, no sure if it’s for me. I hate reading about politics, even fictions politics. lol.

    • ocdreader says:

      Well, I think I have the wrong name for it, thriller yes, and while politics are in there, it isn’t a bunch of them like some others I have read. The first one had a political campaign…but there weren’t tons of politics involved – more death threats, death attempts, zombies running amok (I love that word, amok) and news being reported. and evil puppet master guys, can’t forget “them”…

  5. diannegray says:

    This book sounds like it gave you a good run for the money, Elisa. Great review 😀

    • ocdreader says:

      It did! I really enjoyed it and feel I may be ruined for a bunch of other zombie books because these are so good. Did I pick the best to start with?! I don’t know. 🙂

Don't be shy!

