Review – The Harrowing

harrowingThe Harrowing

by Alexandra Sokoloff (St. Martin’s Press, 2006)

This book starts off quickly, pulls you in and then freaks you out.  It doesn’t really cover new ground, but it was a great little horror/ghost story read.  Robin isn’t happy, she is withdrawn and she has a sucky homelife so she decides to stay at school over Thanksgiving break.  She and 4 other students hang out in the dorm during a storm, both natural and psychic.  A ouiji board is pulled out, they begin to play and things begin to happen.

So, before anything started, the writing gets you in the mood for a ghost story. “By five the dorm was completely, eerily empty, halls dark and silent as the grave.” (pg 19)  It doesn’t mess around, there aren’t a ton of extra details, but what you are given says “this is a horror story so think scary thoughts”.

The people who stay are sort of loners and become close during their trials, a warped Breakfast Club type environment.  It is dangerous, there are drinking and drugs and a “bad guy” and it would probably make a good horror movie.  Some of the back story was interesting, even if I got slightly confused for a bit.

There is a satisfying ending with a big huge finale which wraps up fairly well and there is flesh on the line during the meat of the story. I liked it. It drew me in and made me want to keep reading. I haven’t read too many horror stories but I thought this was well done. 3.5 pentagrams drawn in blood, I will be grabbing other books by Sokoloff for when I feel like reading scary stuff, during the day only though, or I get too nervous.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Horror. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – The Harrowing

  1. Cathy i says:

    Wow, sounds interesting.

  2. Sounds great. Ouiji boards are scary things.

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    Ooooh, sounds like a great horror story. It creeped me about just by your review. I am so interesting in reading it now.

Don't be shy!

