Review – Witch & Wizard

witchnwizardWitch & Wizard

by James Patterson & Gabrielle Charbonnet

Another quick read from the Patterson machine. This one about a brother and sister (Whit & Wisty – names are too similar, I kept getting confused) who find out that they are magical (a wizard and a witch).  The book starts with them getting arrested, pulled out of bed and brought to a horrible prison.  Somehow a new dictatorship, the New Order, or N.O. for short – hahaha – sprang up out of nowhere and they rule through terror and destroying any opposition, basically most kids and anyone magical.

The story is good, these kids are 15 and 17, there is a prophecy about them, and they have a lot of growing up and learning of self to do to accomplish these things.  The adults are mostly horrible N.O. people who are ugly, mean, and Nazi-esque soldier types who rule and are ruled by fear.

Because Patterson stories are mainly dialogue and only bare bones description, it is a super fast read.  I always love to feel like a rock star so they are fun to throw in the queue once in a while.  I also find it fascinating how much story is packed into such a minimalist writing style, but that is just me.  I actually had a bit of a problem with this one though, because the story is so interesting, I wanted more details. How the heck did this N.O. come into power? The kids had no clue all this mania was going down until they were in the thick of things. Also, the timeline is shifty and things happen that sort of confuse things. The one line explaining it just wasn’t enough! Additionally, the world has multiple lands that are sort of explained and I suppose if you just roll with it and accept that the different planes of reality exist and people can get through them when they want, you will be fine, but I again, wanted more detail.

The bad guy is pretty bad, but there are times he makes you wonder, which is human of him.  Though he is bald and I think in a robe so he either looks like a Hari Krishna or another reviewer mentioned Lex Luthor.  I always saw him in the orange robe with a flower (like the guys from the movie Airplane), even though his actions were anything but peaceful and krishna-like.  You only get a few glimpses so that the sequels will have more about him I am sure.

Anyway, if you want something easy-peasy and entertaining, jump into this series. I had a good time, I finished it after all, but felt unsatisfied.  I really think it is the style where things are so simple they let the reader fill in the blanks, (which I can do just fine) but I wanted a bit more.  The main characters were ok, their personalities still need development because right now I don’t feel the need to finish their story.  I might, if the book lands in my lap like this one did.  I give it 3 2-dimensional black and white stars, one is shooting flames, the other two sit silently, waiting.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, YA. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Witch & Wizard

  1. Thanks for a bit of insight into a book generated by the Patterson Machine. I haven’t read any of his books and have never felt a pull. Now at least I can say something about his style if it ever comes up in conversation!

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    Though it wasn’t perfect, this one really appeals to me. I always wanted to read a Patterson book.

    • ocdreader says:

      oh you gotta check it out then! I think everyone should try one, it really isn’t that time consuming but I think they are interesting to check out.

Don't be shy!

