Review – Stormwalker

storm walkerStormwalker (Bk 1)

by Allyson James

A storm magic wielding Navajo girl with an evil god for a mother and a tough, fire magic biker boyfriend. Though I was worried it would be too similar to Mercy Thompson or Jane Trueblood, Janet is a force all her own.  It was an enjoyable book.  We find out about Janet, her family and what the deal is with her boyfriend, Mick.

Janet is in really close proximity to where her mother in this book in order to help find a missing girl. Janet’s mother is a piece of work and wants to use Janet as a tool to help her escape her prison (a place they call Beneath).  So she is sending nasty characters to pull Januet near the vortex that will do something to “open the doors” to Beneath.  Obviously, that would be disastrous and the world would be overrun by baddies.

Because of that storyline, there are people watching Janet closely and making sure she isn’t an evil harridan like dear old mommy.  We have gods, shifters, walking animal zombie things, shamans and other smaller magics.  Also a cop with a vendetta against Janet. This would be Nash who is so over the top by the book it gets pretty funny. I wasn’t too taken with him at first, but he is a guy who is relying on the only thing he understands, rules.

But for a first book, the worldbuilding was great, there was romance and steamy scenes which were steamy without being too long, a lot of humor and action, backstory and interesting side characters.  Honestly I thought it would be more on a romance side than it was, so I was pleasantly surprised there is so much more to it!  The ending is a pretty big showdown which was a tiny bit confusing, but I worked it out with minimal head scratching.  I have the next book in the series and think I will pick it up in the next couple of weeks to see what other trouble Janet and her friends can find.  3.5 stars sitting on a saguaro cactus, you get near and they flit further away, leading you into the desert.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Paranormal, Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review – Stormwalker

  1. beckyday6 says:

    Coh! I want her abs, LOL. 😛

    Nice review!

  2. jenniferbielman says:

    This does sound a little like Mercy Thompson. I like it. Great review. I love how empowering the cover it.

    • ocdreader says:

      yea, it is a bit like many of them, but there are some differences I didn’t want to mention as it is a bit spoilery 🙂 Hoping the series keeps the momentum, I have books 2 & 3 so I guess I will find out!

  3. diannegray says:

    It sounds like a good read, Elisa – I’m looking forward to seeing if book 2 & 3 keep up the momentum 😉

Don't be shy!

