Frivolous Fridays 6/21

There are times when I am entirely too laid back.

I was walking with my friend tonight, we try to jog or walk weekly to get a little exercise and hang out and vent. It is awesome. We were walking around a water park along a busy roadway, crossing the street entrance when an SUV came screeching around the corner, locked its brakes and instead of crashing into the car that was stopped so we could cross the street, she went into the bike lane and half onto the sidewalk, turned the corner into the water park and then bounced off the middle divider.

What the?! So, basically, if we were 3-5 seconds slower, we would have been in the crosswalk and run over.  But while watching this my mind is thinking, “wow, look at her moves, she didn’t hit the light pole, she is in the bike lane and missed the stopped car!  Whoa.  Man, she is out of control, I hope she is ok.”

What I should have been thinking is, “holy crap – move move move so that this car can go out of control and you won’t be hit.”

No one was hurt, her car was a bit dinged, but I am wondering about my sense of self-preservation. Is this a by-product of too many movies and desensitization? Do I not yet realize that I am mortal? Is it a California thing? Or did my brain lock up on me?

Whatever it is, I don’t like it!

Have you ever done anything like that or are you just the opposite?

 

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Frivolous Fridays 6/21

  1. I reckon it’s because you’re a hero. Are you the Batman?

    • ocdreader says:

      No, but once I got shocked while pumping fuel into my car, I was hoping some sort of magic powers were transferred through the shock…but no such luck.

  2. The product of too many books. You are subconsciously mirroring all those heroines with super powers. Next you’ll be trying to stop a bus just by glaring at it!

    • ocdreader says:

      You mean I can’t!? When I was little my grandma gave me a green ring, for some reason I pointed it at the stoplight and it turned green for us. For just a little bit I thought I had a magic ring because it worked a few times and grandma was cool like that. ahhh, good times.

  3. erin c says:

    It’s a good thing you’re fast! Stupid drivers. They’ll be the death of us all.

  4. Nick Wilford says:

    I hardly ever think I’m actually in danger… but yeah, lucky escape!

  5. Layla says:

    Hahahahaha “is it a California thing?” That cracked me up!

    First of all, I’m glad you’re ok. It could have gone poorly for you so I’m glad the lady reacted like that. I was walking at a path in our neighborhood and was crossing a crosswalk when a car went rearing over a speed bump that was there! He very nearly hit me and my friend, but he slammed on the brake at the last minute and I had broken into a run and jumped out of the way. My friend was a little slower :p So it was good he slammed on the brake.

    I’m glad you’re ok. 😀

    • ocdreader says:

      see – you at least ran! I would hope if I were in the crosswalk and a car came right at me directly I would have high tailed it out of there.
      Thank goodness your story ended well also – eek, all these huge hunks of metal flying all over the place…

  6. Cathy I says:

    Not your time….who would cook dinner for me? I think it may be inheirited.

  7. diannegray says:

    I’ve been in the same situation where I pulled the lady next to me away from the path of the car – but it all seemed to happen in slow motion (luckily, because I’m not a fast mover!) 😉

  8. I know exactly what you mean. Books and TV desensitizes us to these things.

  9. cleemckenzie says:

    I’m not sure why you went so analytical during the crisis, but that’s happened to me in the past. It was only after I’d escaped death or being maimed that I started shaking. I still have dark dreams about what happened. Hmmm. Maybe I’m saving it as part of a plot line. 🙂

Don't be shy!

