Review – Midnight Riot

midnight riotMidnight Riot

by Ben Aaronovitch

I have had this one my shelf for a few months now.  Pooks highly recommended it, as have the ladies on paperbackswap.com.  I recently picked it up to see what the flavor was and about two pages in you couldn’t tear it from my hands if you tried.  Mine.  I usually share pretty good, but this book belongs to me.  I am writing my name in it and may lick the cover, not sure.

So, why am I starting this review when I have only read a couple of chapters?  Why do I feel like I love it already?  The character is equal parts clueless, gifted without knowing anything about it, thoughtful and a Londoner.  He is freaking hilarious in a quiet way. Does that make sense?  I simply enjoy the writing, I want to roll around in it and write like this too.  I guess it is a subtle or understated humor that got me so excited to keep reading.

I will share a few of the things I enjoyed.  Besides knowing a new character had a voice that could make the windows shake, “He was from Yorkshire or somewhere like that and, like many Northerers with issues, he’d moved to London as a cheap alternative to psychotherapy.” (pg 30)

The story is interesting too, about the river deities in a territory dispute. I haven’t been to London but from all the books I have read the sights are familiar. And I really want to go!  The police action is trying to track down a possible magical killer who makes peoples faces fall off. Gruesome yet intriguing.

“I agreed that being part of something real was indeed wonderful, but it would be groovy if she could tell me what she’d seen. I actually used the word “groovy” and she didn’t even flinch, which was worrying on so many levels.” (pg 108)

The paranormal elements and the police parts were given an every day vibe, this could be happening down the street and you would never know it.  I loved that part. It is all a part of this world with self depricating humor, ridiculous insights and a story that wasn’t changed for US readership, except for the title and cover (WTF?!).  Why they picked a military looking cover I will never know.  And what does Midnight Riot even mean? Whatever, those publishers think they know best. (whatever, focus group anyone?)

Anyway, the storyline was fun, I didn’t understand what was happening until it was explained to me.  The ending and large explosion of crazy was wild and I didn’t understand all of that either. I was either reading too fast or I just couldn’t follow certain aspects completely.  It was still fun, but I didn’t really get how doing what he does, did what it did.  haha, makes a lot of sense, right?  But it was still super fun and I am so happy I have the second book on my shelf already, Moon Over Soho.  I might actually pick that up in the next couple of months (which is pretty dang fast for series books for me!), though I wouldn’t discount that it might be sooner.  A solid 4 plus stars floating down the Thames.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Mystery, Paranormal. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Review – Midnight Riot

  1. pooks says:

    Yay, yay, yay! Finally, somebody else read it and loves it with me!

  2. cleemckenzie says:

    Interesting how you keep reading even when you’re not sure what’s happening. I guess it’s the desire to see if the author is leading you someplace and will soon make all very clear. I’m noting the book as one to get. Thanks

    • ocdreader says:

      I know right? but I followed the action and what he was doing, I just couldn’t tie it in with what it accomplished or why. I had a tenuous connection in my head and I am not sure if I am right or not. When I reread at some point maybe I will understand the nuances a bit better. 🙂

  3. Have been so swamped with life lately, haven’t read nearly as much as I want to and have had no time or reviews…but boy this one was FUN! Although like you I’m not sure th title fits the story…does it?! Those quotes have me intrigued and groovy is so my kinda word 😉 Also, faces falling off??? What? How? Must know! Heading off to download now 🙂

    Have you read Patrick Rothfuss’s The Kingkiller Chronicles? Read the dirt two books of the trilogy while on holiday (3rd isn’t out yet) and enjoyed them, especially the first – the Name of the Wind – delightful blend of fantasy and clever writing.

    • ocdreader says:

      I LOVED the first one. I haven’t read the second one yet (he took so long to write it!) but I heard it recaps a bit. I need to read that soon, I loved the writing on the first.
      I hope you enjoy the book – very crazy, but lots of fun too 🙂 Hope life slows a bit so you can fit some reading or poem writing in soon..or posting of photography 🙂

      • Yup – the second one is very repetitive especially coz I read them back to back and not as exciting as the first, but enoug that I’m impatient for the third : P

        I think I’m going to have to wait until August for some kind of normalcy when school starts 🙂

  4. Gwynn White says:

    Fantastic review . . . licking the book cover. Way to go. This sounds like an absolute must for me. Thanks for the tip.

  5. Wow, I never even heard of this book before but now I am salivating. If you are willing to lick a book to keep from anyone taking it, then I know it’s good.

  6. Jonathan says:

    “I usually share pretty good, but this book belongs to me. I am writing my name in it and may lick the cover, not sure.”

    Ha! Love it.

    Jonathan
    http://www.ireadabookonce.com

Don't be shy!

