Review – Monster Island

monster islandMonster Island (#1)

by David Wellington (March 2006)

Solid zombie book, pretty gross and gnarly but there are two main storylines and one goes off into paranormal land.  This is the first of a trilogy.

Dekalb is in New York City looking for AIDS drugs for the ruler in Africa he is working for.  Her young soldiers are there with him to keep him safe while he finds what she needs.

In a different part of the city, Gary decides to join the masses and die and become a zombie, but keeps oxygen going to his brain while he dies.  He becomes the smartest dead dude around.  Things go crazy from there!

If you like zombie books, end of times and all that, check this out.  It got a bit gross for me, and I really didn’t expect the nearly paranormal element. Once I got over the shock, I rolled with it, as it definitely added a new twist to an already crazy bit of worldbuilding.  It kind of reminded me of The Enemy.  In that book there is a leader of the zombies who is smarter and almost cunning. The difference is that you don’t get in his head as much, here you follow Gary every other chapter and he stays pretty sympathetic for quite some time.  In fact, for a while, I liked him better than Dekalb! I wasn’t sure who I wanted to survive the conflict.

The end is definitely interesting and it makes me want to read the next book, but I really need a break first. Blergh. For some reason, probably because most YA sets are in trilogies these days I thought it might be YA.  NOPE!  Adult and gross and it had me asking what I would do when faced with this type of death. Most everyone, once bitten wanted to wait to see what would happen.  Give me five more minutes of life, please.  Because of the strong desire for life, crazy things happened.  I give this 3 fireflies blinking on and off, right before they are eaten by a zombie.

About ocdreader

I love to read! I always have a book or four going, I have more books in my to-be-read pile than I can read in a year and yet I continue to haunt the bookstores. I have a problem, but I somehow soldier on. I enjoy talking books, so pass on your recommendations and thoughts - I would love to hear them.
This entry was posted in Apocalyptic, Embarrassment of Riches, Fiction, Horror, Zombies. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review – Monster Island

  1. MONSTER ISLAND! Had me thinking of dinosaurs and stuff, with maybe a bit of Bowser and Mario thrown in as well.

    Are these zombie stories not all the same, though? All the films seem to be.

    Um, not sure if you saw but I put out a begging notice for beta readers for my latest release on Facebook yesterday.

  2. Gwynn White says:

    I will definitely be sitting this one out! Glad you enjoyed it.

  3. jenniferbielman says:

    LOL “smartest Dead Dude around” Well how can I pass this up? Seriously though, this sounds pretty awesome for a zombie book.

  4. diannegray says:

    Probably too gross for me if it’s a bit gross for you. But I love the title!

  5. I’ve wanted to read David Wellington omg such amazing covers for his vampire books

Don't be shy!

